We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #81 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
La Puente, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was recommended by a friend. Its lobby is large with comfortable seating all around. The bar area was also very inviting! The hotel is a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street and about a 15 minute walk to the Riverwalk. The rooms are spacious and very clean.The bedding was so comfortable. I am use to a firm mattress, but I was able sleep very comfortably on the softer mattress. We had a floor to ceiling picture window and the view was breathtaking. Staff was friendly and room service was excellent. You can't go wrong the pricing either. It wasn't cheap, but it wasn't overpriced either. I feel as though I received my monies worth and would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that faces Bourbon St and has the view of Canal St. You will love the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDe610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MrsDe610,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience with us! We're so happy you had an awesome experience at our hotel and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Big Easy.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    839
    376
    147
    72
See reviews for
285
614
61
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel location is a great. Everything is at walking distance. It has great staff, comfy bed, great pillows. Pelican bar has great drinks and good food. Valet was worth the money. It was an over all great stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our 2nd year staying at the Sheraton for our annual Cuzication trip. The hotel location is great. The rooms are clean. If you're on a higher floor and need to get to another floor, you may have to hop on an elevator and get off and hop on a different one. The way their elevators are is a hassle. I'm sure not many people go to NOLA to lay out by the pool, but if that were the case, this hotel is not for you. The hotel is teeny tiny.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britnhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distrito Federal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel has everything that you could expect from a Sheraton experience: good service, decent food, classic rooms. The hotel is well located a few blocks away from the French Quarter, and a walking distance from WWII Museum and the Convention Center. We never had to take a cab, just took a streetcar to get to a restaurant once.
You can buy tours to the different city attractions right at the hotel and at reasonable prices, which is very convenient.
The only inconvenience is that the neighborhood is not that nice at night, I went once to the CVS a couple of blocks away and was molested by some tramps roaming in the street, I really was scared!

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room with a city view. Our room was an inside one and it was pretty dar...
See more room tips
Green Features: As many other hotels, they have this policy of guests choosing when to change linens and towels. Other than that, environmental care is pretty standard, nothing outstanding.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tza2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived at Sheraton on Friday morning, we were allowed to check in early. Staff was very friendly and even suggested to join the SPG program for a 1pm check out and 2 free water bottles in the room. The room was clean so no complains on that part. Location was great! everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The only downfall was that they didn't provide free WiFi. I think Sheraton should be able to provide this service when other smaller hotels are able to. Not my first pick when visiting NOLA but would stay here again if I got a good deal.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room for great views of NOLA.
See more room tips
Green Features: Sheraton NOLA has a great eco friendly program, "Make a Green Choice program", you are awarded a $5 voucher for food and beverage outlets for each night you decline housekeeping.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UTFan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Helen M,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for participating in our Make a Green Choice program! We're glad to see you support our sustainability efforts. Though we provide wi-fi at a cost in guestrooms, we do provide complimentary wi-fi in our lobby for all of our guests and hope you are able to take advantage of that the next time you're in Nola. We hope to see you here again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for a conference that was in the hotel. Some very good things that have been upgraded here and a few cons.

Pros: Good location for the quarter (quieter than staying actually in the quarter unless you don't mind noise) Easy to walk to river, stores, quarter, casino

Nice rooms with decent layout. Bathroom is functional although a bit small.

LOVE the elevators with the computerized buttons on the outside telling you which elevator is coming and not stopping every floor.

Bar/lounge area is a nice gathering place.

FABULOUS valet staff. These guys are great. Had some items I needed for a trade show that were sent directly to the hotel. The trade show folks couldn't find them. Hotel people couldn't find them.....valets found them with no problem.

Cons:
Pretty bad wi fi. Most of the time it did not work in the room.

What looney decided to rehab all the bathrooms on the floors that were having the conference? Had to go either downstairs to a lower floor and meet the street people that seem to use this bathroom or go up two floors.

Several of my co-workers were offered an upgrade deal at check in for a small additional $$ they could use the concierge lounge for drinks & breakfast. As I found out about this at the end of the trip didn't work for me. Probably should offer to all.....or none.

Restaurant closes pretty early for lunch. Went down just before 2 pm to find it closed and only thing open for quick carry out back to the conference was at the bar.

Not sure who handled the box lunches at the conference. Hopefully NOT the hotel catering because they were the worst ever. Saw street people outside the hotel with the boxes from the lunches.....bad sandwiches, only HOT SPICY chips no regular chips, warm potato salad and an apple. I know conferences sometimes need to cut back on expenses but a box lunch should at least be edible. (if hotel did not handle this portion......then whoever does some of the catering for events there.....needs to be let know how bad these things are)

Overall, Sheraton seems to be a nice hotel option. Would like a nicer restaurant to eat at in inside the hotel when the weather is bad. Not sure about the best convention hotel but as a tourist hotel - good deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I chose the river view and from the 36th floor the view was great. The entire staff was friendly and courteous.

It is a 5 minute walk to either Bourbon Street or to the River Walk.

Valet parking was easy and convenient. Would highly recommend and I will stay here when returning to New Orleans.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Runforfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Starwood, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing