We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed, something special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Charles Guest House
Ranked #45 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The St. Charles Guest House is a place I have visited often. The phrase "shabby chic" comes to mind. It is a cool place to be, for people who aren't interested in luxury. Some of the rooms have cosmetic issues, but I have always found that the price reflects this. Great breakfast room. Interesting visitors, often from all over the world. Terrific swimming pool. Friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home at the guest house and in the city. On a recent visit, my family got lost and the owner of the place came and picked them up.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Old, poorly maintained, dirty, bad smell (mildew).

The plastic shower curtain was of a brownish color, must have been there for years.

It looks as if the place has not been painted since the civil war.

Unfortunatly no other accommodation was available under 350$ (St-Patrick week-end) or else we would have requested reimbursement and moved elsewhere.

Advice: don't pay for more than one night in advance so you can leave as soon as you found something else.


Lyse & Guy

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

St. Charles Guesthouse is a charming, lovely, and unique establishment. To be frank, it's not for everyone, but for those seeking something unique and quintessentially New Orleans. It harks back to a time of ease and interesting company. It's not about the rooms, but the experience. It's the sort of place where you will most definitely stumble upon something special...whether it's another interesting guest, a warm conversation by the pool or just being in close proximity to the Garden District or a ride down the St.Charles streetcar. It's a place to discover all that's wonderful about New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogypsygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Pros: Location (the best!), reasonably priced, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, quiet (didn't hear other guests ever)

Cons: Poorly maintained (carpets are thredbare, stains on ceiling, wallpaper peeling or painted over in spots, paint peeling on outside of building, rotted boards on building and on deck), dirty bathroom, moldy smell, sagging mattresses, parking was a nightmare.

We knew this was a bed and breakfast, and we've stayed in them before so we knew what it should be like. But this was just way more run-down than we were expecting. I know B&Bs aren't cookie-cutter hotel chains but I at least expect a clean room that didn't smell of mold. I had just gotten over being sick before this trip, and the mold or mildew brought it all right back.

The location in Uptown could not be beat. It's such a charming neighborhood where family are out walking their dogs and playing with their kids all hours of the day. Shops and restaurants were within walking distance, and the street car was close enough (we didn't take it to the French Quarter, but I believe you can).

If you're looking for an alternative to French Quarter accommodations, I'd highly recommend the area where this B&B is located. But sadly, I'd recommend finding another one because this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Overpriced - bathroom never cleansed properly - dont know if there is a hoover but it was never used in my room where I stayed 10 days - all towels and bedlinen stained - could not sleep with it next to my skin - breakfast i will not mention

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you have a clean home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogmad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My stay at the St. Charles was comfortable and the service was reliable, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms give you the feeling of being a cherished guest at your Lousianna aunt's city home. Charming, quiet, and cozy. Plenty of heat on cool days and nice and cool on warm days. If you are a writer or someone who loves history you will be delighted.
The house is a short 2 block walk to the St. Charles street car, restaurants, and a very short walk to Magazine street in the heart of the Garden district.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterGal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The place is nice, safe with excellent location.
Parking on the street but safe and no problems.
Staff are super nice.
Rooms are just fine.
Bathroom need to be cleaner specially the shower and the towels need better washing (stained) and the our room had was really small.
I will stay again but wil request the review the bathroom before I arrive and will bring my own towels and be sure the bathroom size is just normal.

Room Tip: ask for a regular size bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubenchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
373 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#12 of 141 in New Orleans
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#64 of 141 in New Orleans
90 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#29 of 141 in New Orleans
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Guest House

Address: 1748 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5261
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £32 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Charles Guest House is a simple, friendly,affordable Guest House(B&B) located in the Nationally Hisotric Garden District of New Orleansjust one block from the St. Charles Streetcar stop #11. Museums, manyrestaurants, pubs, drug and food stores within walking distance. TheGuest House is over 125 years old and has been a lodging facility forover 50 years. Family owned and operated. Pool and patio area withfree wifi and complimentary bakery breakfast in the am by the pool.Economy and for the allocentric traveler. Just 17 blocks to the FrenchQuarter. Catering to international travelers with discounts to students, teachers, first responders and worldly travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Charles Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing