We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was the worst”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Charles Guest House
Ranked #40 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“This place was the worst”
Reviewed 27 July 2005

I should have trusted the negative Trip Advisor reviews, but I just had to find out for myself if this place was cool. The hotel website convinced me it could be. Oh Trip Advisor, I will never doubt you again!

This place was a mess. I have stayed in "European Style Hotels" before. I have no problem with funky joints, small rooms, old furniture. I like old places with character. But when I walked into my room at the St. Charles Guest House, I just had to laugh. What a filthy mess! Not charming. Just gross. There were dirty handprints all over one wall. Holes and tears in the wallpaper on another. The rug was trashed, ripped, stained. The ceiling was waterstained and warped. The mattresses were dark brown with age. The furniture looked like it was salvaged from the street. Everywhere I looked was a nasty surprise. The shower was in this bizarre industrial closet and was disgustingly dirty.

I compare it to this motel in Illinois that was a halfway home for released felons. There was no physical danger at the St.Charles but the facilities were equally depressing. I just wanted to leave. The only positive about my room was that I didn't see any roaches or other vermin.

It's in a fine location, it has a beautiful lobby and the staff were very nice. Nice, but amateurs. Kids in the city for the summer. They didn't know much about working in a hotel. Thye didn't know anything about the hotel they were working in. They got drunk by the pool alot. Thats cool, I guess. I might have partied with them, except the place was just such a depressing dive. It's somewhat inexpensive, but way too much money for the shape its in.

I would stay here again if it were $20 a night. Maybe.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    52
    12
    10
    24
See reviews for
19
38
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2005

The St. Charles Guest House in New Orlean's Lower Garden District feels like New Orleans. The place is a 125-year-old former boarding house and it tends to attract an eclectic group of guests, the kind of people who don't get wide-eyed at the idea of big screen TV or rooms that all look the same so the only way you can tell your home is if your plastic key card fits. The people who come to the guest house tend to hang out by the pool underneath the bananna trees and get to know one another. The staff, many of whom live at the guest house, and the owner are helpful and friendly, so you feel like you are part of the neighborhood while you are staying there. The neighborhood is lovely, located between the Garden District and downtown and one block off the streetcar line. The place is basic: breakfast is buns and toast and the rooms have 125-year-old plumbing and window air conditioners. Some rooms have been renovated more than others, but the staff seems happy to fulfill your needs if you are clear about what you want. And, the place is a bargain. Where can you stay in New Orleans for well under $100 a night, depending on the time of year? If you want a place to stay in New Orleans that has spirit, then the St. Charles Guest House will be for you. I have been there four or five times and always run into repeat customers like myself.

Helpful?
3 Thank LAF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2005

We stayed a week at the beginning of May. The location was excellent and very safe; at the edge of the Garden District, a block from the trolley, and easy access to the French Quarter, good restraunts, the universities and to Audubon park. True, the buildings are somewhat run down, the shower stall was cramped, the hot water tap was loose and the bedding was clean but old. However, we used it as a place to sleep, spending the rest of our time touring and so we really didn't mind the short-comings of the building. We got what we paid for and were satisfied with it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2005

We wanted a bath tub in our room. When I made the reservation, I specified this and was told "no problem" and then I called again prior to the trip to reiterate it. We checked in, NO BATH TUB! and we were told we could not be moved to a room with one. Also, the room was musty, the shower tiny and dark and when you shut off the taps in the bathroom, the whole sink moved as if coming loose. The day of check out we turned in the key in the morning and left the bags there to pick up on the way to the airport. The front door locks and so we had to ring the doorbell to be let in to get our bags. I rang the doorbell for 15 minutes with the cab meter running before someone answered. Also we were told the guesthouse was "right on" the trolley line. It is not. Service is lax and sloppy; at times downright infuriating and we paid too much for what we got.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2005

Dissapointed. We thought this place would be charming from their web site. Compared to other B&Bs we have stayed in this place is dirty and in disrepair.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 May 2004

Loved it when we stayed there 5 years ago for our honeymoon and we are planning areturn trip this september for our anniversary!! The whole point of visiting New Orleans (for us at least) was the history...I did not want a cookie cutter hotel room or obnoxious hosts. Dennis, his wife and their staff were great and helpful but we still felt we had privacy which is not always afforded in a B&B. I felt safe and comforatble in th area and I would recomend this to ANYONE looking for a true New Orleans experience!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2004

This place has a great location. It is certainly possible to walk to the French Quarter if you are not a terrified old fart. Also, the streetcar is a block away. And you can see some funny sights leaning out of the lovely huge windows over Prytania.

However, the place is not as much quaint as it is run-down. During my stay, we came home to an electrical fire. Our room was not damaged, but we didn't have water for a few hours. This does not inspire confidence in one's lodgings. I wouldn't stay here again, but if you need a rilly cheap hostel in a convienient location, this will do.

PS--don't get excited about the books. They are old textbooks, cheesy romances and dusty library sale leftovers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Goaty_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#115 of 164 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 140 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#21 of 140 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Garden District
The Atlas House
The Atlas House
#18 of 35 in New Orleans
89 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Guest House

Property: St. Charles Guest House
Address: 1748 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5261
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Charles Guest House is a simple, friendly,affordable Guest House(B&B) located in the Nationally Hisotric Garden District of New Orleansjust one block from the St. Charles Streetcar stop #11. Museums, manyrestaurants, pubs, drug and food stores within walking distance. TheGuest House is over 125 years old and has been a lodging facility forover 50 years. Family owned and operated. Pool and patio area withfree wifi and complimentary bakery breakfast in the am by the pool.Economy and for the allocentric traveler. Just 17 blocks to the FrenchQuarter. Catering to international travelers with discounts to students, teachers, first responders and worldly travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Charles Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing