We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place for lunch”
Review of Stanley

Stanley
Ranked #118 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Conveniently located on historic Jackson Square, the view from Stanley's provincial yet elegant dining room provides a beautiful backdrop of St. Louis Cathedral and downtown New Orleans. With all day breakfast and brunch, delicious sandwiches, a soda fountain, house-made ice cream desserts, and The Stanley Burger there's something guaranteed to please anyone's tastes in this charming French Quarter locale.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool place for lunch”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Service very friendly with good food. We had the thanksgiving turkey croissant and the muffaletta, both of which were very fresh and tasty. Would recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    603
    247
    89
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheery surroundings/ home made hollandaise”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Located in the Pontalba Apartments in Jackson Square, this is a perfect place for a great breakfast. It is not your seedy, touristy kind of place, but a bright, historical establishment with high ceilings.We had a lovely, tall waitress who was very helpful. I had the Eggs Benedict and their version had a thicker, french bread ;I replaced it with the more traditional English Muffin. Can't beat it. I also tried a taste of their gumbo, which was excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonne306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best fried oysters and eggs benedict while viewing the Square.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is my favorite place to have breakfast in the French Quarter, New Orleans, LA. a block from the Cafe DeMonde. Lively and refreshing atmosphere, great wait staff and excellent food and coffee. A must, the Stanley Oyster Breakfast!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennMiller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not a tourist trap at Jackson Square”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I had the corned beef breakfast which was chunks and potatoes and poached eggs and my wife had the eggs stella that had soft shelled crab that she just raved about. The service was quick and food excellent and great for people watching.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cajunyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
739 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Get the Bananas Foster French Toast!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our service was slow (but hey, it's the South) and our server had a southern drawl (one of the only two we heard over our weekend stay). I go the Bananas Foster french toast which came almost immediately after I ordered it (do they just make tons of them in advance?). It was extremely awesome, but I swear the menu said it came with two dollops of ice cream...I only got one.

We sat around awhile and then had to signal to our waiter to get the check (we were never asked for refills on water).

Four circles for the experience and the tasty food, but it really just deserves three for the service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley also viewed

 

Been to Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing