We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Quaint little inn on the edge of the French quarter. Comfy beds and coffee in the morning!
Within walking distance of Jackson square and the street cars. Staff was helpful in us finding places we wanted to go and things we needed. Would stay here again if I am back in New Orleans!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    244
    79
    21
    9
See reviews for
103
326
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Beautifully recently remodeled, clean and very convenient location. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Johnny! Walkable to French Quarter sites, but not too close to the noise of Bourbon Street. The only inconvenience was parking. No street parking nearby and recommended to park in a parking garage for $20 a day. Definitely would stay again and recommend to all my friends

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms for a girls weekend. The double room (2 queens) on the courtyard was quiet; the one bedroom suite (2 queens and a sitting area) was street side and a little noisier because of that and the stairs that were directly outside. All in all, it was clean & safe with a friendly staff. Was close enough to walk all around the French Quarter but far enough away from Bourbon street so we never had to be part of the mess! I'd stay again...but would definitely request a courtyard room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lizzymac615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First off, let me start by saying the location cannot be beat. If you are looking for a place to sleep that is within the French Quarter but far enough away from Bourbon Street this is ideal. There were 4 of us and we stayed in 2 different rooms and had 2 different experiences. The standard double room that is in the courtyard is lovely. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. You have to walk down an alley to get to this room and there is a cute courtyard right outside the door. Two of us slept in this room the 1st few nights and I would give this a sold 7 out of 10 stars. I had to write a note to the cleaning staff to leave coffee as they had neglected to do so the 1st day! There is nothing fancy about this Inn but there was in room coffee, a hot shower and a nice cozy bed. Our friends stayed in the one bedroom suite which is off St Peters. The suite is large and clean. However, unless you sleep like the dead you hear everything.....the street noise at night is bothersome and echos through the entire suite but its the loud banging of the door right outside the room as well as the people walking up and down the stairs at all hours of the night. The 1st night there my friends closed the door to the bedroom in hopes that it would deaden some of the noise and in the middle of the night the exterior door to the stairwell was closed so hard that is jolted their door open and woke them up. The cherry on the sundae was the luggage being dragged down the stairs by guests checking out at 5AM in the morning. Also, there is no deadbolt on the door and the coffee wasn't replaced daily. Overall its a good value the ladies at the front desk were very nice and helped us with cabs, printing our boarding passes etc. I'd stay there again but I think I'd ask for an upstairs interior room or take a heavy dose of Tylenol PM.

Room Tip: Interior room on the 2nd floor is your best bet......we stayed in room 22 and room 20. 22 was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The location is very convenient to the touristy stuff, which is probably why I was so pleasantly surprised. We stayed on the 1st floor on great-weather weekend nights and the noise level wasn't too bad at all. The room felt shoebox-small but was quite clean and modern. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Only stayed 3 nights but loved the old style charm and real NO feel to this hotel. Nice hardwood floors and nice chandelier in our room. We overlooked the courtyard which was delightful. When booking we wondered what standard the rooms might be in due to the reasonable price for NO, but it was all fantastic. Only 2 blocks from Bourbon st.! Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great boutique hotel - good location, clean, Carol was awesome to work with. We stayed in the 2 BR unit - it was perfect for my wife and I and our two teenage daughters.
Great experience - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you found your recent stay at the Inn on St Peter to be so great! We are thrilled Ms. Carol was so "awesome to work with" and that you found your guestroom, as well as the hotel itself, to be so clean and in such a prime location. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 161 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
940 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Property: Inn on St. Peter
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing