We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real French quarter feeling”
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #33 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed a the Inn on St. Peter for three nights in early January. Our room had a very large king bed and a small but comfortable bathroom. It was great to come out on the wrap around balcony right outside the room door. The location is perfect. It is only 2 minutes away from the Bourbon and Royal streets, yet far away from all the noise and craziness. It seems everything we needed was on our street - the Preservation hall, supermarket, nice bars and etc. They offer several options for parking, closest in a 10 minutes walk. We booked through the hotel's website as they offer nice deals directly. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for those looking to explore the French quarter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed at the inn on st peter last week as a couple. this place is perfect because it is only 2 blocks off bourbon, but so quiet and removed from the buzz that you dont even notice it. the staff here was so nice and friendly, they really took great care of us. i made a mistake of leaving cash for the room when we meant to charge it to our cap one card (for the miles) and they quickly reversed the transaction with a smile and set us up right. really great customer service all around. the property is a typical historic hotel in the area built in the 1700's but modern and sparkling clean throughout. a nice touch: kuerig coffee makers and water bottles in the lobby and in the room for the caffeine fix. bed was super soft and cozy, temp in the room was just right, thermostat was easy to use. shower was big and spacious. really cool wrap around balcony on the 2nd floor. perfect place to stay and a great value-

Room Tip: we always request a quiet corner room-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetrun4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Inn on St Peter was probably even more charming than I expected. Most of the rooms are not especially large but we loved ours nonetheless. Room 16, with 1 king bed, was a good size for 2 people and we loved the 2nd floor location. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Our first night we actually were in a 2 queen room with friends - #32. The bathroom had a double sink which was awesome.

The great: Keurig single cup brewers in every room, comfy beds, everything is newly refurbished/redecorated, showers are great, location is terrific- far enough from Bourbon St that there isn't much noise, but close enough to walk everywhere

The floor needed a good swiffering and the towels could be a littler larger. Other than that, It's a 200 year old building...it won't be perfect. However, it has tons of character. And, it has everything you need except maybe a mini fridge (suites only).

My only real complaint is about the water pressure & temp in room 32. I'm not sure what they did to fix that problem (we told them) but we were planning to move to a different room anyway so we just took showers in our new room.

Room Tip: upper floors have great views from the wrap-around balcony; interior rooms may be quieter;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location in the Quarter; close enough to everything but somewhat off the beaten path so you hear none of the noise! As others have stated, the rooms are small but very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The heat in the hotel went out one day during our stay (unusual 30 degree weather for New Orleans) but the staff got right on it and it was up and running by the time we got back to our room. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely stay at the Inn on St. Peter again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akira640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Staying at The Inn on St. Peter is a great New Orleans experience. You get to stay in a 100+ French Quarter building. The rooms are clean and the Staff is friendly. The rooms are small but it is New Orleans and you are staying in the French Quarter so you will probably not be hanging out at the hotel much. I really love that this place has wood floors and not hotel carpet. If you are sensitive to noise take a set of ear of plugs. It is an old building and you are in the French Quarter people will be out late making noise and you can hear them. I slept with my ear plugs 2 nights and would have never known anyone else was outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had the best time at this hotel! Stayed in a one bedroom king suite in the garden area. There were two of us, and it was more than enough room! It was charming, it had a brick wall in the living area which was a nice touch.The bed was super cozy. It is a must stay for a true new orleans expierence! It was walking distance to EVERYTHING. A quick 3-5 minute stroll on you were on Bourbon, but still far enough away where it wasn't loud. We walked to the Superdome (about 45 minutes) but an easy walk. I would stay here again on our next trip!

Room Tip: I heard the one bedrooms are pretty small, I would upgrade to a suite. It is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent this past weekend here for a girls' getaway and loved this guest house. Perfect location in a quiet section of the Quarter yet close to everything. We stayed in a king suite the first night facing the courtyard and the a two-bedroom suite the second night facing the street. Loved them both, although the two-bedroom was a bit noisy from the street below. Steeped in New Orleans charm with original hardwood floors and exposed brick walls. And beautiful marble updated and upgraded bathrooms. Surprisingly spacious. Very clean. And the friendliness of the staff couldn't be beat. A wonderful find. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Face the courtyard if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 166 in New Orleans
620 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#54 of 166 in New Orleans
484 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 166 in New Orleans
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,284 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
619 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £83 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on St. Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing