We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #39 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You would think that with the star rating it gets that it would be a bad hotel, but once you get in it is a wonderful hotel. The only reason I am not rating it 5 stars is obviously because there is no free breakfast as far as eggs, bacon, etc and also because one day the housekeeper skipped our room. But overall the room quality and friendliness of most was great and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I made a boo-boo - initially followed everyone's advice on here to book an inside room, but when we got there, I realized the door faces the court yard and asked to switch it to an upstairs room facing the street. Well, that made it about a 100 times louder at night, especially toward the end of the week when the French Quarter got rowdier and drunker. The reason I switched (to which they were very accommodating) is I imagined people would be coming back drunk and hanging out in the court yard, making a lot of noise at 3 am. That is still possible, but didn't happen while we were there. Instead, we got an earful from a bar across the street. Other than that, being on the corner of Burgandy is actually wonderful - it's only 4 blocks away from Bourbon, but considerably less noisy. If it hadn't been for the bar, sleep quality would have been excellent. Another point to consider is that the inside rooms have no windows and only a door that leads to a dark court yard, so there's very little natural light.

Room Tip: For quiet throughout the night - inside court yard room. For more character, balcony and view - upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katd234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in R19 which is on the first floor overlooking Burgundy St. The room was small, very clean with coffee maker and access to the balcony with table and chairs. The noise at night was very loud, I would ask for courtyard room or a room facing St Peter St if I was to stay here again. The staff were very helpful. Extremely convenient location.

Room Tip: Get room in courtyard or facing St Peters St first floor much quieter than facing Burgundy St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnno50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came for the French Quarter Festival, stayed Friday through Tuesday AM. The hotel is close to everything,The staff were wonderful, the room #18 was perfect with an outside balcony, table and chairs. The room was spotless, and maid service had the room made up early each day. There was a coffee maker in the room, and coffee was replaced every day.The air conditioning worked great. But on Sunday night the air conditioner leaked all over the bed, and they immediately put us in a wonderful suite with a private courtyard for our last two nights.

We recommend the Inn at St. Peter.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room. You have to walk up a flight of metal stairs though, but the views are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just left New Orleans and the best accommodations one could ask for. I was booked into #1 which is in the courtyard. I found it quiet, did not hear any foot traffic from upstairs. The linens were great, Aveda products in the bathroom were lovely and the AC was not noisy. You are walking distance to everything. There is a Laundromat only a five minute walk away, Free Wheelin' Cycle just up on Burgundy St. Bourbon street is only a short two blocks away, perfect distance. Everybody was friendly and accommodating. Thank you Miss Daisy for looking after the room so well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tequilawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Not only are you within walking distance of almost everything but you are also far enough away from Bourbon street to not here the craziness at night. We loved being able to stop by out room for little breaks during the day and night. We stayed for 7 nights and we had a very nice sized room for the duration of our trip. Friendly staff and house keeping. We honestly cannot wait to come back to New Orleans and stay here again! All the bad reviews on here seem dated. Seems like maybe new ownership or management has really changed things. I definitely suggest staying here. Authentic NOLA right here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Ms. Carol and company took fine care of us. We were in #3 and it was great. The room was small but that is fine for us, we travel light. The bed was very comfy. It was quiet and felt safe. This is close to the action and anything but a big chain, high-rise hotel. We recommend it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank shortysboyKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#33 of 166 in New Orleans
599 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,125 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
463 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#40 of 166 in New Orleans
604 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £87 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on St. Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing