We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel in the French Quarter”
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small Hotel in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in room 35 which was two queen bed deluxe on the second floor and faces towards the courtyard. Looking through the reviews I was a little concerned about the noise level, however when we stayed 5/10-5/13 it was not noisy at all even on Saturday night. I guess staying in the inner rooms helps with that. The hotel is located two blocks from Bourbon street so that was very convenient., however I would not suggest walking by yourself back at a late hour.

When we arrived at 10am our room was already ready. The lobby was very small and they offered complementary fruit and coffee. All the hotel staff were very nice always greeted us when they past by.

The room itself was a little on the small side which didn't really matter since we were hardly in the room. The bathroom and the room was clean. Beds were done everyday and towels replaced daily.

What I liked best about this hotel was that it had a lot of charm the brick walls, the courtyard and the second floor terrace where you can see all the way down St. Peter and see the cathedral. I definitely did not want to stay in a large chain hotel and this was the perfect place to really get that French Quarter feel.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the outside facing the streets were loud, so I would pick an interior room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    262
    82
    21
    9
See reviews for
116
344
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very central location, though a few blocks removed from all the craziness of Bourbon street so was a nice quiet retreat. Was able to walk all over the French Quarter where there are great restaurants and fun boutiques. Beautiful courtyard with lovely shade, cobble stone and brick walls. Beautiful simple rooms. Lovely atmosphere. Beds were comfortable. A/C available, ceiling fan, free WiFi, TV, Keurig coffee machine in room. Beds made and towels changed daily. Bathroom updated but plumbing is quite old so bit low water pressure and had to wait quite a while for hot water to kick in. Very friendly staff. This is a great alternative to staying at the big hotels that are either much more expensive, or further away from the quarter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You would think that with the star rating it gets that it would be a bad hotel, but once you get in it is a wonderful hotel. The only reason I am not rating it 5 stars is obviously because there is no free breakfast as far as eggs, bacon, etc and also because one day the housekeeper skipped our room. But overall the room quality and friendliness of most was great and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I made a boo-boo - initially followed everyone's advice on here to book an inside room, but when we got there, I realized the door faces the court yard and asked to switch it to an upstairs room facing the street. Well, that made it about a 100 times louder at night, especially toward the end of the week when the French Quarter got rowdier and drunker. The reason I switched (to which they were very accommodating) is I imagined people would be coming back drunk and hanging out in the court yard, making a lot of noise at 3 am. That is still possible, but didn't happen while we were there. Instead, we got an earful from a bar across the street. Other than that, being on the corner of Burgandy is actually wonderful - it's only 4 blocks away from Bourbon, but considerably less noisy. If it hadn't been for the bar, sleep quality would have been excellent. Another point to consider is that the inside rooms have no windows and only a door that leads to a dark court yard, so there's very little natural light.

Room Tip: For quiet throughout the night - inside court yard room. For more character, balcony and view - upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katd234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in R19 which is on the first floor overlooking Burgundy St. The room was small, very clean with coffee maker and access to the balcony with table and chairs. The noise at night was very loud, I would ask for courtyard room or a room facing St Peter St if I was to stay here again. The staff were very helpful. Extremely convenient location.

Room Tip: Get room in courtyard or facing St Peters St first floor much quieter than facing Burgundy St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnno50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came for the French Quarter Festival, stayed Friday through Tuesday AM. The hotel is close to everything,The staff were wonderful, the room #18 was perfect with an outside balcony, table and chairs. The room was spotless, and maid service had the room made up early each day. There was a coffee maker in the room, and coffee was replaced every day.The air conditioning worked great. But on Sunday night the air conditioner leaked all over the bed, and they immediately put us in a wonderful suite with a private courtyard for our last two nights.

We recommend the Inn at St. Peter.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room. You have to walk up a flight of metal stairs though, but the views are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just left New Orleans and the best accommodations one could ask for. I was booked into #1 which is in the courtyard. I found it quiet, did not hear any foot traffic from upstairs. The linens were great, Aveda products in the bathroom were lovely and the AC was not noisy. You are walking distance to everything. There is a Laundromat only a five minute walk away, Free Wheelin' Cycle just up on Burgundy St. Bourbon street is only a short two blocks away, perfect distance. Everybody was friendly and accommodating. Thank you Miss Daisy for looking after the room so well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tequilawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#41 of 163 in New Orleans
549 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#36 of 163 in New Orleans
427 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 163 in New Orleans
1,758 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,282 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Property: Inn on St. Peter
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on St. Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing