We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here every time.”
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stay here every time.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I loved everything about this hotel! The room was small, but clean and nicely decorated. We loved not having a window so we could sleep in. We loved that it was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do and see while we were there. We will stay here every time we come to New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaSatellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    387
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
220
626
61
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After lots of research, my husband and I decided on this hotel. We stayed 3 nights (6/9 - 6/12). It is a gem! Great weekday rates (of course, goes up significantly on the weekends), friendly service, clean & renovated room, and right in the action (in the French Quarter, across the street from the river and street car). I had requested a king bed (vs queen) during the easy online reservation process, and they accommodated it.

The only quirk was that our room didn't have a window, but that wasn't a big deal. Also there is a small pool which was murky the first night, but clean the other two nights so we did at least get to use it once.

Check-out is 11am but our flight wasn't til 8pm so they held our bags securely which gave us all day to keep exploring. We returned to the hotel about an hour before our taxi (which they arranged) and hung out at the pool. In this area, there is a nice, large, air-conditioned room with snack machines and a large bathroom for guests' convenience.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just know that some rooms don't have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed there one night, location was great (3 blocks from famous Bourbon Street), the reservationists and clerk were very friendly. The room was exquisite, high-end linens, antique furnishings against an old brick wall- beautiful, BUT SMALL. The bathroom was newly renovated, updated tile, glass enclosure shower. We had our car valeted for $28. The price was fair by comparison, found a great deal on Expedia, called the hotel first to see if they could meet Expedia's price, a difference of $10.00. They said "No". So we ended up booking through Expedia. This is a charming hotel, right out of a Kate Chopin novel, lots of French Quarter architecture, old oils paintings, marble, crystal chandeliers, well-appointed courtyard, very tiny pool, and a resident cat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgoddess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Can't say enough nice things about our stay at the French Market Inn! We had a recently renovated king room on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, super-comfy bed, large bathroom with plenty of hit water and great shower pressure, which is a luxury in these old buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful, making sure all our needs were taken care of. Hotel is in the best location you can ask for. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 3 days at the French Market Inn as we started a 3 week road trip through the Southeast. We have visited New Orleans on 2 other occasions, and this stay was by far one of the most pleasant because of the French Market Inn. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. The facilities and rooms were clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The location, central to all of the French Quarter, could not have been more convenient for exploring the city. We will definitely stay here again in our future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I made a last minute hotel change when another local hotel was less than upfront with their costs. I really didn't know where to begin when choosing a new hotel because I was unfamiliar with NOLA. The French Market Inn staff were quick to meet our every need at a much better bargain. They offered very affordable prices, nice rooms that were comfortable and charming, and superior customer service. We absolutely loved the locale. Everything we needed was within five minutes, super close tot he French Market, while settled in what we considered the safest section of the French Quarter. It was truly a blessing to find them on such short notice and we were so pleased that we opted to extend our stay. Bonus- the parking is located directly in front of the hotel for almost half what other hotels were charging! We will definitely choose them for our return visits to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Smokers will prefer to be on the courtyard for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leatha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely hotel on the outskirt of the French Quarter. Location was perfect. Hotel completely remodeled and beautiful. Room was stunning. Large and comfortable. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. No restaurant or coffee shop on site, but out the door and steps away is the coffee shop and restaurants abound in the Quarter. Did not use the pool, but it did look inviting. Coffee in the courtyard was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Property: French Market Inn
Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing