We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location- Great Price- Will Definitely Return!”
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Location- Great Price- Will Definitely Return!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I decided to go down for the night since we live within a few hours. We didn't want to have to walk a huge distance to get where we wanted to go only to have to walk more. Im always leery about the actual condition of hotels.
This hotel is right on Decatur street, literally a couple of block from Bourbon Street. Across the street from the River and Jax Brewery. PERFECT location.
The room was windowless, which was fine with us. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was beautiful although the "getting ready" area could be bigger for us women who have hair and makeup stuff to do!! :)
Right outside our room theres a courtyard with a fountain and many tables and chairs to rest in. The pool is out there as well. Its VERY small but it serves the purpose!

Room Tip: Prepare to pay for parking. It was $28 for us for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshandAllyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    388
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
220
628
61
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Found this boutique hotel after much searching. Was at first put off by its mediocre rating here, but then read reviews which described that the hotel had undergone renovation and was a new place. They were totally correct!! I frankly don't know how anyone could say anything negative about the French Market Inn.

The location is amazing--our window looked out at the Miss. river and the Natchez riverboat. Cafe Du Monde was just a few steps away as were conveniences like CVS and Walgreens. Ten minutes and you were anywhere in French Quarter. Our room (two queens for family of three) was huge!! Big TV, nice beds, lots of room. We were on the street side but it was quiet. Wifi worked well and all three of us were on our 'machines" all the time.

The only downside might be there is no breakfast (but again it is only steps to some great places) and that the rooms don't have fridge/microwave, which we did not need. The pool is really a big bath tub, but you can cool off there. And the orange cat rules the whole place! Help was very friendly and courteous. Service good. Again--the parking fee is steep, but similar to any other central hotel.

Highly recommend this place. I don't think we could have been any happier. Great place and great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chesterchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a last-minute day trip to New Orleans as a part of anniversary weekend celebrations in Biloxi. This hotel is simply beautiful. We loved the authentic New Orleans appointments and decor. The staff was beyond helpful. They sought make our experience wonderful. Just one example, when I asked for some extra towels, the gentlemen who brought them to us asked me if I needed anything more. I told him I was headed to get some ice and sodas. He volunteered to get it for us. Another example, we were apparently standing on the wrong side of the street for a cab. The staff noticed, came got us and hailed a cab for us. My only downfall was our room didn't have a window. After a while, I became to feel closed in.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laschandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Delighted to find a clean, spacious and newly renovated room that maintained its New Orleans ambiance with brick walls,turn of the century furniture and an extremely comfortable bed. Location is superb, within walking distance of the entire French Quarter .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciluffome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beds were very comfortable, linens fresh and new...love that they don't use those nasty old bedspreads.
Room was nicely air conditioned, its hot in New Orleans in June!
Plenty of hot water for three ladies showers back to back.
Can be noisy, but our room faced Decatur Street so I guess that is to be expected.
Housekeeping was a problem. Our room was spotless on arrival (no problem there) however, when we would return in the afternoon (2:30 or so) the room had not been touched, three days in a row.
We loved this inn, very "New Orleans" feeling and in the center of everything.

Room Tip: Room 252 has two queen beds and a french door that opens to a private balcony. Train, Natchez Steam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLWEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, right in the heart of the French Quarters! I felt like was a guest in someone's beautiful home! The rooms were newly renovated with beautiful charm of NOLA. Extremely clean and comfortable. Staff was great and so helpful as I had some personal business to take care of, needing fax service. Beautiful NOLA charm all around. Perry, the bellhop greeted us with such N'awlins joy and was so helpful through registration process ...so were the desk clerks. Patrick, the beautiful house cat is so friendly and added to the charm and warmth. Clean little pool! I've been traveling cross-country for a bit and have had my fill of good, not so good and bad stays! This was the best! You get so much for the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The website & reviews do not do it justice! Outstanding service, clean charming room , very comfortable bed, updated bathroom, safe convenient location ...I could go on, but stay here for yourself. Best value in the Quarter!
I was concerned before arriving, only to greeted by HIGHLY hospitable front desk, beautiful lobby, housekeeping making special requests turn into no problems, CLEAN well maintained room, glass shower enclosure and granite vanity. ALL for a very reasonable price. The front desk treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel and housekeeping treated us the same. Thank you so much, seriously made our trip even better '

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,211 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Property: French Market Inn
Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing