We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in NOLA”
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #18 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Words cannot express the terrific time that we had in NOLA. We stayed at the French Market Inn which is conveniently located in the French Quarter. Everything was walking distance so we didn't have to worry about driving and where to park our car. The French Market Inn staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, cool, cozy and comfortable. Our room had a lovely window facing the street so we had a nice view of Decatur. The rate was fantastic. Next time we come back to NOLA; we are staying at the French Market Inn. We loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are driving; always stop at the Welcome Center. They gave us very helpful suggestions about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for the weekend. Perfect location - walking distance to
French Market, Bourbon St, Frenchman St, restaurants, bars. Nice little courtyard with small
pool. Close enough to all the nightlife, but far enough to enjoy quiet and get away from all the
hustle and bustle. River across the street as well as trolly to French Market.
Desk and support staff nice enough.
4pm check in and no mini fridge - but I assume that is the same at most places in th area.
I would stay here again. Perfect for a group or romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buxomhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in an excellent location, close to everything TFQ has to offer. Rooms are clean, luxurious and well-equipped, with high, comfy beds.

We were given a wifi code, but could not get wifi due to the location of the room (409). We had to go outside onto the staircase to get connection. However, if you're not in need, it's good to get away from it all and disconnect for a while.

We were woken at 8.30am the first morning by a foul-mouthed housekeeper, who was shouting curse words along our corridor. Despite calling reception and asking them to be quiet, we were kept awake and didn't get the lie-in we desperately wanted and needed. This ruined the stay somewhat, but it didn't happen again.

The pool is lovely to have a soak in after a long, hot day.

Beware - we booked through Booking.com and were told that there would be no pre-payment taken, but the hotel took $165 three days before we arrived. As I'd registered on the site with my UK card, I incurred exchange fees (I intended to pay using a pre-loaded dollar credit card), which I wasn't happy about. Apparently, we were told about this, but I've checked all my emails and they all say no pre-payment or deposit is to be taken. Disappointing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rebbyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

everything about our hotel was excellent, and the location was perfect. The weather outside was hot and humid and the keep the hotel very cool. It was nice to walk into after a hot day, and the pool small but perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john31443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel with a pleasant staf and a great location. Walking to distance to Bourbon Street for only ~$110/night. We stayed at one of the inside rooms, so we didn't have any windows, but it didn't bother us at all, we were looking for a good location and clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherK202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

you will read that this hotel is awesome. from the first sight it is true. devil however lies in details. plain facts of my experience

1) booking.com reservation was messed up and i got a room with no windows while booking one with windows. upgrade cost me $40 per night.
2) upgrade was useless as my windows were looking at the wall and room was very dark during the day. not dark enough during the night tho (read below)
3) be prepared not to be able to sleep on Friday and Saturday nights. while its not allowed to be in the pool (located in the mid of the hotel, looks nice but painful place) - people will do get there all night laughing and screaming. if your room looking into the inner yard you will hear it all. hotel does not make any proactive attempt to protect your privacy. if you complain about the noise it takes about 3 times to complain and about 60 min to shut down drunk people in the pool. they return in half hour after and all starts all over. they bring more friends. party!
4) wifi in my room was big, attached to the ceiling and looked like xmas tree. a lot of light in the night
5) no fresh air in the room - windows won't open. i did not notice a trace of ventilation in the room, only in bathroom. solution - leave bathroom door open, turn on ventilation (noisy) and fan. yay!
5) no hooks in bathroom. seriously, where shall i put all little travel bags with cosmetic? on toilet seat? on the floor?
6) hair dryer was hidden in the closet. new. the one shall be attached to walls. not very neat.
7) the staff is crazy! after sleepless night you will be woke up at 7.45 by guys who appear to clean the pool area. they laugh out loud, make call, drag metal tables over the stone flow (ouch!). they leave the place dirty and you sitting on the bed wondering how to kill yourself. you leave complaint at front desk. next morning all repeats. louder. by your door (vendetta? maybe!)

all in all nice hotel if you come alone or with friends and not going to sleep at all, just drink and faint in the pool. if that's the case - place is perfect.

Room Tip: if you still decide to go - call to hotel and choose the room which has some privacy. they know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Arancina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We decided at the last moment to take a weekend trip to New Orleans. We typically go 3-4 times a year and have stayed in quite a few hotels but we prefer B & B's and boutique hotels. We booked a room for 3 nights and had no idea what to expect but it was a great stay! The staff was one of the friendliest I have encountered in NOLA. The room was very clean, quiet and the temperature was very pleasant. The location was good...close to everything. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We asked for an interior room so we would not hear outside noise. We got a room with no windows so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rlincarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,386 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,522 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,348 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £84 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing