We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Oqrleans Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #91 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed at the Lafayete during French Quarter Fest this year as we have the past five years. The hotel
Is one of our favorites. Rooms are spacious, location is perfect, and the staff always makes us feel like we are part of their family. One of the front desk managers, Kerry, has so many insights on places to eat, things to do that every trip is an adventure. If your looking for a small classy hotel with New Orleans charm and a great staff...the Lafayette is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uscdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband and I are "regulars" at the Lafayette. We try our best to make it back at least twice a year. We initially chose the hotel because it was pet friendly. We quickly realized it was also "people" friendly. The staff greats you warmly and treats you not only as guest, but as an honored guest. The rooms are charming and the location is ideal. When I made plans to attend the 2011 Jazz fest, with a girlfriend and without my husband and dog, I decided to stay in a different hotel because the Lafayette does not have rooms with two queen or two double beds. We stayed at a well respected hotel, which was lovely, but lacked the personal touches and the charm of the Lafayette. I ended up stopping by twice to say hi and was lucky enough to catch Kerry and Geisla (spelling?). As always, I was treated with genuine kindness. This speaks volumes for their character and I applaud the powers that be for attracting and retaining such superlative staff members. It's true, there really is no place like home, and there is no better home in New Orleans.

Room Tip: charm, great location, wonderful staff
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank greenmonkey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Shabby is not chic at this penny pinching hotel; if you can get over that you will have a nice stay. Room was a suite; which was large, bathroom was nice; lot of towels, water pressure was great and the hot water was endless, convenient location, self parking and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pet friendly and nice staff
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Dd917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The Lafayette Hotel was perfectly located for our holiday needs. Whilst the location was sufficient quiet to allow a peaceful nights sleep if desired, the bustling French quarter was within easy walking distance.
The reception staff were friendly and obliging. They were able to provide access to an exceptional shuttle service to us during the Jazz festival and in addition were excellant at arranging taxi's to the airport/minding bags etc...
The rooms itself was of a decent size and excellant value considering what we paid.
Our only complaint was small items of food left in the room during the day (unopened chocolate bars etc..) being eaten whilst we were out, presumably by the chambermaids. An irritating feature but not enough to ruin our experience. In addition the room was equipped with a safe so after we had realised what was happening our confectionary was secured :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitamrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Kerry and Gisela always make us feel at home! Been going for years and go back to the Lafayette because of them. Sandy and Vince Schwan

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandra182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Nice quiet relaxed location. Connected to a great restaurant and lovely bar with patio seating. Walking distance to all points of interest. The quarter, WWII museum, & restaurants. Easy access to public transportation. Will stay there again when in nola.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psquarehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The entire staff was gracious, kind, warm and oozed great service. We were on a first name basis with nearly everyone at the hotel. Geisla the mangager went out of her way to make us welcome, Kerry and Dawyne at the front desk were outstanding and patiently answered all of our questions and gave us great tips as to where to eat, where to grab a cocktail etc. We also had the pleasure of eating right at the hotel and grabbing a couple of cocktail there as well. Food and service were excellent. Brett and John provided warm, friendly efficient service to our little group. This was a return trip for my husband and I along with 2 very dear friends of ours. We will be back again next year for sure.

Room Tip: Reserve your room early.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teri_ciucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 165 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 165 in New Orleans
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
2,383 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#94 of 165 in New Orleans
581 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 165 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £70 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing