We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz Fest Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jazz Fest Stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week that included the first weekend of Jazz Fest. We had a large room on the south side on the fourth floor. We slept well in the comfortable king size bed. We really wished for a fridge in the room, and wanted to open a window, but it was explained that by city ordinance, no hotel windows open in New Orleans. Every single employee of the hotel was friendly and helpful. The location on the trolley line and within walking distance of French Quarter, great grocery store, Mother's for breakfast, Italian food kitty corner, etc. was perfect. We aren't used to paying quite so much for a hotel room of this quality, but it was Jazz Fest week and it was New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    208
    72
    26
    21
See reviews for
84
230
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here on a quick trip with friends recently. The hotel is charming. The decor is "old-fashioned," which fits in fine with the theme of the hotel. There is not much of a lobby for relaxing or waiting in. The bar area has been nicely updated but is quite loud, with cement floors and lots of TVs (not a cozy place). It was fairly empty when we visited.

The hotel had very good service; the rooms were always clean and the employees were attentive and kind. They have a security guard there at all times which was reassuring. The rooms were very large. The air conditioners were not up to the task of keeping the rooms cool enough, and they have an annoying "energy saving" feature which seems to shut the AC units off if you're not moving around enough in the room.

The biggest drawback of the hotel is the streetcar line. Although it's charming to have it pass in front of the hotel, in reality it's very noisy and shakes the hotel. It comes every 15 minutes, so I had a very difficult time sleeping. Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper--or else ask for a room at the back of the hotel (but it was still pretty loud from there). My husband is a heavy sleeper and didn't have a problem.

The hotel restaurant was pricey so we had breakfast at the Cafe at the Square--a delicious restaurant just a block or two toward the French Quarter. The coffee drinkers in our party had to walk several blocks to find a good cup of to-go coffee (no Starbucks, etc. nearby).

We were able to walk to the French Quarter every day--a nice stroll that took about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, away from the streetcar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My girlfriend and I had a marvelous week at the Lafayette Hotel in a lovely room (with balconies). The location was convenient to the St Charles trolley and was within walking distance or a short cab ride to the Quarter, Frenchman St, and many restaurants in the warehouse district. The service was impeccable and particular appreciation goes to Dwayne, at the front desk, and Luis, at the door. Both were responsive to any question or need that arose. We look forward to our next stay at the Lafayette.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

we just returned from jazz fest and stayed at lafayette hotel for 3 nights. the hotel was clean, room was big and everyone was very helpful. we were surprised at how big the room was. we had a living room with a sink & fridge and the bedroom was separate. the first day there, we couldn't figure out the shower & the front desk woman came to our room within 2 minutes. housekeeping did a great job and our room was always clean. we've been to nola a bunch of times and have never stayed in a smaller hotel. we usually go for the bigger ones. there was a feeling of personal service. the hotel was right on the street car line, which was convenient and it was a short walk to the french quarter. the last night there, we were too tired to walk to dinner and ate in the restaurant right downstairs. awesome. one of the better meals we had on our trip.
it's in a really quiet neighborhood. sometimes it's nice to get away from the craziness of nola. there's the best grocery store about 2 blocks away.
can't wait to go back and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: our friends stayed on the street side and said that the street car woke them up every morning and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I visit NO at least twice a year and like to stay at the Lafayette. It's an older place, chaming, and the staff are fairly cordial. We get a corner suite with a 'frig, buy groceries at Rouse's down the street, and prepare some modest meals in the room, or enjoy a picnic at the park next door. We always request the same room (a nice corner suite, top floor, facing the park), and until the last visit, they managed to put us there. This time, however, we got a suite, but in the middle of the hotel. Still pleasant, but you could hear the AC machine going full tilt on the street and it did not have much view. I was disappointed as we had booked the room months in advance, so maybe their customer service is starting to slip. This latest room also had a TV stand that was ready for the junk yard and not up the hotel's standards. Overall, I would recommend the Lafayette as a lower-priced alernative and a very handy location as well. You do hear the street car, but it is not an irritating sound to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomertravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Close to the conference hotel (Hilton Riverside) but significantly less expensive. Lovely old building that has been well taken care of and is delightful. Clean, comfortable. Lovely staff - very helpful. Breakfast place down the street was fantastic and the restaurant in the hotel very good too. recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0c0Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Friends and I stayed for 5 nights for Jazz Fest and city fun. The property is centrally located walking distance of the Quarter, Riverfront, and Kingdome. My room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Even though it shows it's age, I'd stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
554 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing