We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - huge room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #91 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I was in town for a conference and didn't want to stay at the big conference center. I was looking for a boutique hotel and this was perfect. It was only six blocks from the conference, a nice morning and afternoon walk. My room was huge and included king sized bed, living area and bar. The Lafayette is close to the French Quarters (walking distance) and on a trolley line. Also close to a great grocery store with deli and prepared meals if you need. Could use a little paint and perhaps new carpet, but the layout was awesome. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachnut56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Love this place. I stay here on business and always enjoy it. Located in the central business district, close to great restaurants, the garden district, Frenchmens street, and the quarter. Also, dangerously close to Mothers (best comfort food in NOLA-you gotta try this place, seriously). Rooms are big, hotel is quaint and old, but has a touch of NOLA that I absolutely love. I hesitate to share this, for fear I'll blow it up. Oh well. Give it a shot.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyC704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The Lafayette is located next to Lafayette Square, a welcom patch of green trees and statuary that lends a certain calm to the area. Our room was a King Suite, with a separate bedroom and a living area with a sofa bed, armchairs, small table, refrigerator and mini-sink. The bathroom was large, marble floors, but the jacuzzi tub did not work and the shower was weird to operate. We had to get help from the front desk to make it work. That, and the lack of a pool, are the only things that made it less than perfect. The room was spacious and comfortable, with lovely antique furniture, tastefully decorated, high ceilings, and windows overlooking the square. The neighborhood is residencial, with lots of the iconic wrought iron balconies I like to see in NOLA. Federal buildings nearby keep it safe, and there are bistros and restaurantes within a couple of blocks, including one downstairs. We got to the French Quarter on foot a couple of times, it's not too far, and the second day we took a taxi back, only $7. The Lafayette is the ideal base of oprations for a New Orleans visit. The location is great, reasonable price, friendly attentive staff and quiet, charming surroundings. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose king Suite instead of two rooms. You save money, and there is plenty of room. The sofa bed...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaMpi8502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband, I, our teen son and his friend stayed here 08/11 - 12. We had a suite with a king-size bed in the bedroom and a sofa-bed in the living room. It also had a nice bar area. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the suite and how unique the place was. It was a bit out-dated, yes; the drapes were a bit dirty and some lights in the room weren't working; but it has this old-time feel, and very quiet too.

The front desk and bell men were extremely friendly and helpful - they told us we could park on the street for free during weekends and we saved $56 from two days of valet parking!

It is only a short walk to French Quarter and very well priced. I booked the room at their own web site and got a pretty good deal. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnceTooMany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Me and my friend stayed here in September 2011 and it was absolutely amazing.

It's in an amazing area - close to the main spots - handy to walk back to after a bit of drinking on Bourbon Street. The staff were really friendly and helpful (there was an incident where a bus picking us up for a swamp tour didn't turn up, we sat and waited for about 2 hours until the woman on reception rang up for us and sorted it out, very grateful!). The bed was the comfiest bed I have ever, ever slept in.. even today, almost a year after our stay, we still refer to it as "the marshmallow" and the nicest 5 nights sleep we've had. The room was lovely, a definite surprise considering the bargain we paid, and the restaurant was lovely too!

I would highly recommend staying here. Given the chance, I'd go back again in a heartbeat, if only to sleep in the marshmallow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polaris89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for one night after our cuise, and I must say we were very satisifed. From the tine we checked in until the time we left, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful with helping us get our room squared away. We arrived early for check-in and they allowed us to check our bags so we wouldn't have to carry them around with us and within the hour they made room for us. The decor was nice and the room was very clean we would reccommend this hotel to anyone and we have stayed at some newer hotels but when we go back to New Orleans Layfayette is where we will be staying from now on!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Fantastic experience in classic rooms with lots of space, friendly and helpfull staff, great location and very VERY good price!
Only points of improvement were the curtains (not all hooks were attached), the toilet flusher (sometimes kept running) and the bed (could have been a bit harder).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paularps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,305 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 166 in New Orleans
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
2,385 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#94 of 166 in New Orleans
582 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#87 of 166 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £70 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing