We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff and Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #91 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Spent 4 days and nights in a King Suite after Red Fishing for 4 days. The staff treated us awesomely. The Room was large, clean, well taken care of. Was actually shocked when got room through tourist center for first night as I was leery. It was so good stayed another 3 nights. Convenient, lots of ambiance, and a great value for the dollar. Recommend it highly. Heading back in another week. RCC

Room Tip: Book the Suite. Great Value if you like more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in mid-November. We had a lovely stay at a lovely hotel. I had booked a king suite away from the trolley line in the back of the hotel. We stayed in room 509, which had a large "living area" with a sofa, chair, coffee table, wet bar, mini-fridge and two lamps. There was also a flat screen mounted on the wall opposite the sofa. The bedroom area was separated from the living area by a partial wall which had the bedroom closet built into it. The king bed was opposite another wall-mounted flat screen TV. It was a spacious room and certainly covered all of our needs.

The staff was very helpful, especially Dwayne. He made suggestions, gave directions, and gave us coupons for local restaurants. He also volunteered to call cabs for us and suggested someone to pick us us from the airport.

The location was great and we alternated walking to the French Quarter (about a mile) and taking the trolley. When we checked out, we left our unused Day Pass for the trolley at the front desk and we were assured that the passes would be put to good use by the arriving Ophthalmologists, who were there for the annual convention.

I will definitely return to this hotel and if anyone is looking for a 'boutique' style hotel, I would suggest this one. If you are looking for a hotel chain with brand-new everything amenities such as an exercise room or a small 24 hour cafe, this is NOT the pace for you.

Room Tip: Get a king suite in the back on the 5th floor. It is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NRT727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am surprised to read other reviews that commend their good service and friendly, helpful staff. Those employees must not work there any longer. We were there for 4 nights and
the only person who was truly friendly and helpful was the security guard/parking attendant
who did not work for Lafayette but sat in their lobby. He/she gave us free tickets for the trolley
and went looking for the clerk when we checked out. Whom we never saw and still haven't received a copy of our bill via email as relayed through this third person.
From check in to check out, the front desk staff was short of despicable.
Usually hotels will offer experienced recommendations and assist with a reservation. Not this one.
They didn't know where to suggest for a jazz brunch and had to be prodded through
the process of making a reservation.
And don't expect free wi fi. It seems preposterous they would charge an additional $5 per day
but they do. They deserve a few points for their location.
The bed was comfortable although, the television was in a ridiculous place for viewing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice old hotel. Old hotels have small rooms, that was true of the Lafayette. But the drain in the tub backed up ever day for a week. The toilet backed up once. Other than that facilities were good.

The hotel staff was very nice and dedicated to good service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 700robertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here the night of 11/9/13 because our orignal hotel we used for a business gathering was sold out for our last night in town. We ended up in a large suite that was very nice, great surprise for our $230 rate. Room needed some TLC--several things were falling apart: toilet did not flush, hole in the wall, broken desk chair, etc. The hotel itself was lovely, just needed some care. The street car line outside the hotel is loud for sure. Does not run all night but does run late and early. Bellperson nearly caused us to miss our flight--she insisted on calling a cab company and waved off several passing cabs because she wanted to steer our business to a specific company. Driver said he'd be to us in five minutes and 40 minutes later we flagged down a cab and left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler from the Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel was clean, comfortable and attractive. We stayed there for 3 nights, with Friday and Saturday prices being almost 3 times what the Sunday rate was. While that may be standard for hotels in tourist areas, I thought the higher rate was too much for the hotel since some details fell short. For instance: the bottom sheet on the king size bed didn't stay tucked in, the bathroom sink was stained, the door had to be pushed closed. Also, our room overlooked the street, which had a trolley running well into the night. Overall, it was above average...just a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

From the point of booking I spoke with "Ron". He have me tips and recommendations and really set me up for an amazing New Orleans experience from the get go. Service was top notch! I was very impressed with the hotel, the location and most of all the guest service. The staff went out of their way to take care of us, and this is what sets it all apart. Talk about Southern hospitality!!
I reserved a suite and I could not have found a better deal. Yes, it is an older hotel but it has the New Orleans charm I was looking for. I had a wet bar, fridge, two separate rooms with lots of space. Updates included flat screen tv's in both the bedroom and "living" room, not that we watched them at all but the room had both updated features and old school charm.
Thank you to Ron and the whole staff for making my visit memorable and top notch!! Highly recommend this hotel for price, location and guest service. Thanks again Ron for providing an amazing trip for us!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#89 of 166 in New Orleans
596 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#57 of 166 in New Orleans
1,661 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,480 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £72 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing