We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good downtown hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Big nice room with cachet. 10 min walking to Bourbon street, on the path of the cable car otherwise.
80$+4.95$ a day for wifi and local phone calls+3$ for safe+10$ parking outside and no breakfast included, though.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    198
    71
    25
    21
See reviews for
77
218
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed in a Suite on the 4th floor (411) sandwiched in-between the elevators during the weekend before Mardi Gras and had a quiet night's sleep without any of the noise from the parades. The room was a bit beat up and worn; nails holding the drapes up in the bathroom and no hot water in the bathroom sink (only cold came out…). The bed was alright except there were only foam rubber pillows which weren't very comfortable.

The location was excellent with easy access to Canal Street and the French Quarter. The St. Charles streetcar stops right in front which makes getting Uptown quite easy. There is a bar on site, but there is no restaurant for breakfast. A small deli is just down the street and there are numerous restaurant options in the immediate vicinity.

If you are comfortable with a 2.5 - 3 star hotel, this is a good deal. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton and you'll be fine!

Room Tip: If there during Mardi Gras, get a room in the back so you don't hear the Streetcar or the Parade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Traveled for business just as Mardi Gras celebrations were beginning. The hotel is in pretty good shape. My room was fairly clean. There was some discoloration of the water when first running it in the sink and shower but resolved on its own. I wouldn't consider this place spectacular but for the price point it is a good value. Location was great for my purpose (CBD). My primary reason for rating it "very good" is the service. I didn't encounter any problems including when asking for my internet charge to be dropped since I couldn't receive service in my room. As a frequent traveler, that customer service isn't as frequent as some may expect. Overall, a worthwhile place to look into and stay if needing to be in the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are fans of the Valentino family of hotels and try to stay at one of the five whenever we visit NOLA. This one didn't disappoint. The room and bathroom were large, clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. We were a short walk from the French Quarter; but, the St. Charles trolley stop in front of the hotel. We're looking forward to our next NOLA trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolene930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great location, helpful staff, good price but tired and average. Ameneties were of low quality. The heater in the room did not work right. Lobby smelled like gas everytime we entered the hotel and loud noise from some sort of fan/generator all the time. The restaurant was closed nearly the entire time though the hotel two doors down was open. The lobby bar was closed the entire time. If you are in town for business, this is not the hotel for you but if you are looking for a low price, check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a charming grand hotel. Our room was more like a suite than a hotel room. The service was spectacular and the staff was very accommodating. We arrived early before check-in and the staff held our luggage until we could check in. This an older style Hotel but was modernized and very elegant. It is also right on the St. Charles Street Trolley line making transportation to and from the hotel easy. I would definitely return to this Hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Sunday nights are a real value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BufaloBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Ck'd in the Lafayette on Fri 01/24/2014. When we got to rm, realized no balcony. Went to fr. desk "gentleman" told me "no other rm". Okay, I pd and requested balc rm, sorry we don't have anything but you can cancel your reservation! WELL, it would have been a little difficult to drive around looking for a balcony room at 5PM! This was the day of the "ice storm" in New Orleans! Fri. nite realized NO HEAT! It was icy and light snow outside. Called fr. dest was told would have problem handled first thing in AM. At noon, maintenance arrived, could not fix heat. Outside repairman planning to come. The "gentleman" at front dest showed up with a portable heater! We went on abt our business and recieved message on cell phone from manager. "We are sorry of any inconvenience you have had, the Lafayette is crediting your M/C 150.00! Okay at $$$ a night, you would have thought they would have done somewhat better/more, considering we were they for 4 nights. Yes, the heater was fixed when we returned Sat. afternoon. Bottom line from me...No more staying at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans for us!

Room Tip: Room 507 was cold at 20degrees outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at The Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Balcony rooms are reserved and confirmed as a specific room type in advance - hotel was not able to accommodate this request after-the-fact. Hotel did everything possible to accommodate guest - terrible winter weather conditions made service difficult - generous refund afforded - heat repair issues resolved. Tough to receive this response after so much care was extended, particularly the conditions under which we were all operating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing