We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart attack”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart attack”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The manager Lenny refused to give us a credit for our 4 night stay . My mother in law had a heart attack right before we were to leave for New Orleans. We sent documentation from the hospital. We are very disappointed to lose that amount of money. Will not ever stay there and will tell all of our friends. I know they rented our room as it was Jazz Fest weekend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank lamsonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    209
    72
    26
    24
See reviews for
85
232
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
733 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I can't believe the great low price I got for this place. My room was so nice and spacious and the bathroom was perfect. Now to the negative parts, the parking is expensive and some construction is going on in the street next to the hotel. The street noise didn't bother us and there is a parking lot a block away for half the hotel's price.

Room Tip: For less street noise ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My grandmother and I stayed at the Lafayette Hotel at the end of March 2014 while we were in town for an academic conference. The rooms were very nice and spacious and located in a historic building. Additionally, the hotel is located in a nice, safe area of town that is close to the French Quarter but not too close to Bourbon St. if you're not into that kind of thing :)

Most of all, the staff was what took the cake for us during our stay at the Lafayette. They were very accommodating to us and helped answer all our questions about the city! I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the New Orleans area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Older hotel but the room was spacious and very very clean. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly. Location is close to the French Quarter and Superdome. Valet parking was $28 a night but worth it being that parking is scarce in this downtown area. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed in a suit, it was a good size. It was clean, the staff was very friendly. The room had an older historic feel to it, you could see where towel racks or door knobs had been replaced. That didn't bother me, I am glad that they were replaced because I am sure they needed to be. Any older property is going to have signs of aging like this. The room was really nice. I enjoyed my stay. The location was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is beautiful and and regal and though it is old it still has class and elegance. We really enjoyed our stay here for Mardi Gras. The room was HUGE, the marble floors in the bathroom so cool, and the front desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherryharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed again at the Lafayette hotel for Mardi Gras 2014. The rooms had been renovated and added flat screen television. The accommodations were much improved. It is still a great place to stay for Mardi Gras in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fburas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#108 of 163 in New Orleans
1,003 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing