We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #91 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

While my wife and I were in New Orleans to attend the graduation of our daughter from Tulane, we stayed at the Lafayette Hotel on St. Charles street.
It is an older, smaller hotel, but overall we found it a nice place to stay. It is conveniently located just a few blocks to Canal St. and the French Quarter and also convenient to the Super Dome. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room we had was very spacious. We would definitely stay here again on a future trip to NOLA.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly front desk staff welcomed us there, showed us what was close and set us lose upon a great city. The location is great. Just outside the french quarter, quiet and on the street car line. The hotel doesn't have the inflated prices one finds just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianTraveler-221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The manager Lenny refused to give us a credit for our 4 night stay . My mother in law had a heart attack right before we were to leave for New Orleans. We sent documentation from the hospital. We are very disappointed to lose that amount of money. Will not ever stay there and will tell all of our friends. I know they rented our room as it was Jazz Fest weekend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank lamsonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I can't believe the great low price I got for this place. My room was so nice and spacious and the bathroom was perfect. Now to the negative parts, the parking is expensive and some construction is going on in the street next to the hotel. The street noise didn't bother us and there is a parking lot a block away for half the hotel's price.

Room Tip: For less street noise ask for an interior room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My grandmother and I stayed at the Lafayette Hotel at the end of March 2014 while we were in town for an academic conference. The rooms were very nice and spacious and located in a historic building. Additionally, the hotel is located in a nice, safe area of town that is close to the French Quarter but not too close to Bourbon St. if you're not into that kind of thing :)

Most of all, the staff was what took the cake for us during our stay at the Lafayette. They were very accommodating to us and helped answer all our questions about the city! I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the New Orleans area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Older hotel but the room was spacious and very very clean. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly. Location is close to the French Quarter and Superdome. Valet parking was $28 a night but worth it being that parking is scarce in this downtown area. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 165 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 165 in New Orleans
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
2,381 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#94 of 165 in New Orleans
581 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 165 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £70 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing