We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great hotel. In the Warehouse/Arts District. Quiet neighborhood with several restaurants within walking distance. On Saturday mornings, you can walk to the Crescent City Farmer's Market and have a wonderful breakfast and pick up some fresh fruits and vegetables. We had a great suite with a separate bedroom and a living area with a full-size sleeper sofa. Great service, got our car quickly when we needed it and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texassissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    208
    72
    26
    21
See reviews for
84
230
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My third yearly visit to the Lafayette Hotel for the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage music festival totally convinced me that the Lafayette Hotel is the most desirable place to stay in New Orleans. The Lafayette is conveniently located next to Lafayette Square, home of the YLC Wednesday at the Square, a free, 12-week concert series with food and drink for sale to benefit the Young Leadership Council, which one can enjoy from some of the balconies, best yet, by walking a few feet to the park. The Lafayette is on the St Charles streetcar line, a few blocks from downtown NO, Canal St, and the French Quarter. In conclusion, the Lafayette provides a centrally located home-base to most of NO attractions. New Orleans is a great walk-around city, and the Lafayette’s location inspires the walks.
The recently updated rooms are spacious, comfortable, cozy and simply elegant, well equipped with flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, coffee maker, preparation areas with a sink, and great sitting areas, In other words, the Lafayette provides a great environment to “come home” to after a long day of music and walking.
The staff at the Lafayette, in my opinion, is the reason why I stay there. They treat all guests like family and are ready to fill one’s whims instantly. Manager Carla Jane Tennissen will accommodate any and all requests, and asks if she could do more. Carla is a truly loyal Lafayette representative, totally dedicated to customer satisfaction. Working equally as hard alongside Carla are Myia Hoag, Chanta Brown, Nicole North, Terron Brown and others that worked at times when I was either cruising or sleeping. The great lady that took care of our rooms is Miss Rena, the best care I have ever had anywhere.
The Lafayette has a wonderful restaurant on premise, as well as two very complete bars, and limited parking is available. I highly recommend the Lafayette Hotel to all that wish to experience New Orleans and plan on staying there until they kick me out!

Room Tip: Some rooms with balconies. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Decided on a quick getaway with my hubby to NO. After looking at different hotels decided The Lafayette was perfect for us: good price, excellent location and good reviews and we were not disappointed. Great service, good size room, older barroom fixtures but clean and nicely decorated. The buildings and nearby architecture is beautiful. The hotel is not in the middle of Bourbon Street but is at a reasonable distance (about 8 blocks). You will enjoy NO without being in the middle of the chaos and noise but be relatively close to enjoy everything the city has to offer. We stay in room 503 in the 5th floor at the end if the hall and had no problem with noise and didn't hear the streetcars that run right in front of the hotel all the way trough St. Charles Avenue.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, la
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Lafayette Hotel. A perfect boutique hotel that accommodated my needs. You could miss it, as the entrance is flushed in between a restaurant. Nonetheless, a spacious room with a large bathroom...perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank necoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at The Lafayette to attend a friend's wedding. The staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel, which one concierge calls The Lady, is being refurbished little by little. Our room was huge compared to others I've been in. And it's in a very walkable area. If you want modern gadgetry and digital everything in the middle of Bourbon St., this isn't for you. But if you want a comfortable room where you can relax and actually enjoy your vacation, I would recommend the Lafayette. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing St . Charles. The hotel is on a trolley rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauraPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A great hotel and awesome staff that will do anything to help your stay the best! ! The streetcars were right out in front the hotel adding to the awesomeness of our New Orleans experience! Would love to stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The valet service was awful driving our car with the emergency brakes on the manager was stupid and the restaurant was closed never staying here again. Laundry service never came to pick up the clothes we had to take them down stairs. Service in this place sucks

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at The Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hotel provided excellent services - including valet, room and otherwise. Went to great lengths to satisfy guest issues, but impossible for some reason, not sure why. Sorry this guest was unable to enjoy the wonderful guest experiences we typically offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
1,238 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing