We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Aubrey, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It's confenient to everything. We walked to the French Quarter daily, to the Garden District, St. Louis Cemetery #1, and the WWII Museum all from the hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. Our room (403) was huge and very clean. If you want modern instaed of aged patina, etc., this isn't the hotel for you, but if you want convenience, clean room, and efficient staff, stay here.

Helpful?
3 Thank fifthteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    209
    72
    26
    24
See reviews for
85
232
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We chose this property based on price and location, in spite of the fact that some reviews were less than stellar. It was a wonderful stay in a boutique hotel in a quiet area. It was close to everything, but not in the middle of the rowdy areas. The room was so comfy, the staff so helpful and the room was a wonderful retreat at the end of a long day of sightseeing. If we ever have the opportunity to return to New Orleans, we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the suite, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg MS
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Reviewed a little over two years ago and rated it 4 stars, but it is definitely 5-star now. We had a king suite that was just perfect, good-sized rooms, attractively furnished, clean, and quiet. Everyone on the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, from desk clerks to bellmen/women to housekeepers. A special shout-out to Shantay on the front desk, who was a great help to us on a couple of different occasions and was very personable, a great asset in her current position. The location is ideal, right on St. Charles and right across from Herbsaint, numerous other excellent restaurants within easy walking distance, also an excellent Rouse's grocery store just 2 blocks away. There has been a change in the in-house restaurant, previously Mike's on the Avenue, now Desi Vega's Steakhouse; since we are not fans of steakhouses we are not likely to go there, but it seems to be pretty popular. Rates are quite affordable in summer, especially if you can go on a date other than the weekend. Parking will set you back an extra $28/day, but that is right at the going rate in New Orleans.

Room Tip: We find the sound of streetcars comforting so we like staying right on St. Charles Avenue, but if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smileyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We were in room 401 and it was amazing. My wife and I normally would choose from the more popular brand name hotels but we went out on the limb and booked with this hotel. The hotel is older but still kept in great condition. The location of this hotel is convenient. Right on the St . Charles street car. Also about a 5 block walk to the main strip and bourbon st. The staff was awesome chantè was a great resource. Thanks for a wonderful first time in nawlins

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daquan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great hotel. In the Warehouse/Arts District. Quiet neighborhood with several restaurants within walking distance. On Saturday mornings, you can walk to the Crescent City Farmer's Market and have a wonderful breakfast and pick up some fresh fruits and vegetables. We had a great suite with a separate bedroom and a living area with a full-size sleeper sofa. Great service, got our car quickly when we needed it and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texassissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, West Virginia, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My third yearly visit to the Lafayette Hotel for the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage music festival totally convinced me that the Lafayette Hotel is the most desirable place to stay in New Orleans. The Lafayette is conveniently located next to Lafayette Square, home of the YLC Wednesday at the Square, a free, 12-week concert series with food and drink for sale to benefit the Young Leadership Council, which one can enjoy from some of the balconies, best yet, by walking a few feet to the park. The Lafayette is on the St Charles streetcar line, a few blocks from downtown NO, Canal St, and the French Quarter. In conclusion, the Lafayette provides a centrally located home-base to most of NO attractions. New Orleans is a great walk-around city, and the Lafayette’s location inspires the walks.
The recently updated rooms are spacious, comfortable, cozy and simply elegant, well equipped with flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, coffee maker, preparation areas with a sink, and great sitting areas, In other words, the Lafayette provides a great environment to “come home” to after a long day of music and walking.
The staff at the Lafayette, in my opinion, is the reason why I stay there. They treat all guests like family and are ready to fill one’s whims instantly. Manager Carla Jane Tennissen will accommodate any and all requests, and asks if she could do more. Carla is a truly loyal Lafayette representative, totally dedicated to customer satisfaction. Working equally as hard alongside Carla are Myia Hoag, Chanta Brown, Nicole North, Terron Brown and others that worked at times when I was either cruising or sleeping. The great lady that took care of our rooms is Miss Rena, the best care I have ever had anywhere.
The Lafayette has a wonderful restaurant on premise, as well as two very complete bars, and limited parking is available. I highly recommend the Lafayette Hotel to all that wish to experience New Orleans and plan on staying there until they kick me out!

Room Tip: Some rooms with balconies. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruston, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Decided on a quick getaway with my hubby to NO. After looking at different hotels decided The Lafayette was perfect for us: good price, excellent location and good reviews and we were not disappointed. Great service, good size room, older barroom fixtures but clean and nicely decorated. The buildings and nearby architecture is beautiful. The hotel is not in the middle of Bourbon Street but is at a reasonable distance (about 8 blocks). You will enjoy NO without being in the middle of the chaos and noise but be relatively close to enjoy everything the city has to offer. We stay in room 503 in the 5th floor at the end if the hall and had no problem with noise and didn't hear the streetcars that run right in front of the hotel all the way trough St. Charles Avenue.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#108 of 163 in New Orleans
1,003 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing