We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgically Attractive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nostalgically Attractive”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Let’s start by saying that there is no place like home. That said; let’s get to the important stuff!

Upon check in we were informed that our room would be next to the elevator. We expressed concern and were told that we had nothing to worry about. Reluctantly we proceeded to our room. To our surprise and amazement, the room was extremely quiet and comfortable. The pillows were amazing. As a matter of fact, the entire bed was really, really comfy. As stated previously, there is no place like home. However, given the age of the hotel, I feel that it was quaint, charming, and adequately clean.

The hotel is on the trolley line (world famous street car), so maneuvering around the city will not be a problem. However, should you desire to drive, vehicle retrieval is done quickly.

There is no exercise facility on the premises, but to my surprise, arrangements have been made for the lack thereof. With a coupon obtained from the front desk, your room key and $7.00, you can gain access to the Elmwood Fitness Center that’s located in the One Shell Square building (walking distance from hotel). I think this is a great idea as it breaks the monotony of the everyday tourist walk. You get a city view from the 13th floor, as well as the opportunity to get a glimpse the One Shell Square building. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to utilize the fitness center on this visit.

I’d like to mention that TerRon and Chante (front desk employees) were very professional and helpful.

In summary, I really enjoyed my stay and I will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    208
    72
    26
    21
See reviews for
84
230
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new braunfels
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Charming hotel close to the French Quarter but far enough to enjoy the sights. St. Charles trolley is right outside the door to carry you to French Quarter, Garden District, Lafayette Square. Suites are huge. The restaurant was closed for vacation but easy access to plenty of other choices. Just off from the Business District so able to walk the area and even at night could catch the trolley or staff able to direct you good food. Concierge even walked us to a small bar one street back from the hotel entrance. Staff was so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the older buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diann_13NewBraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a nice small hotel. The rooms were pretty clean and the furnishings were fresh. Convenient to most things in New Orleans; either a short walk or streetcar ride. Staff was very friendly. The street noise was a little loud on the front of the building and our room occasionally had a smokey smell, but otherwise a very pleasant stay. Worlds better than their sister hotel, The Place de Armes in the French Quarter.


MEMBER
HOME
ABOUT
HOW A+ WORKS
A+ ESSENTIALS
RESULTS
FAQ
APPLY
NEWS
CONTACT Orleans,

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back or side for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingartist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Charming hotel, close to everything but still away from the bustle. Across the street is a streetcar stop for the St. Charles streetcar, and across the other street is Lafayette Square, a historic landmark. We traveled with our dog, a German Shepherd and the staff was really nice and welcoming.There were no issues and the dog and we felt very comfortable. The room was spacious, newly renovated. Great hotel, with character that reflects the NOLA culture and charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 330Nicoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Liked: Small, charming, really nice staff, away from French Quarter and right next to the Arts District, streetcar right out front, huge suites, great happy hour.

Disliked: A bit of inconvience due to remodeling (some noise & no water for about 4 hrs. one day), the maids could have done a little better job.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froglegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It's confenient to everything. We walked to the French Quarter daily, to the Garden District, St. Louis Cemetery #1, and the WWII Museum all from the hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. Our room (403) was huge and very clean. If you want modern instaed of aged patina, etc., this isn't the hotel for you, but if you want convenience, clean room, and efficient staff, stay here.

Helpful?
3 Thank fifthteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We chose this property based on price and location, in spite of the fact that some reviews were less than stellar. It was a wonderful stay in a boutique hotel in a quiet area. It was close to everything, but not in the middle of the rowdy areas. The room was so comfy, the staff so helpful and the room was a wonderful retreat at the end of a long day of sightseeing. If we ever have the opportunity to return to New Orleans, we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the suite, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
554 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing