We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already re-booked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #93 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is not a perfect 5 star prime hotel, but it is a pretty good 4 star charmer and well worth the price.

Location: in Warehouse District on St. Charles Street. The streetcar is literally right out the front door and there is lots within walking distance either way (into the Lower Garden District, Warehouse, or French Quarter). Also comfortable area where I did not feel uncomfortable walking back to the hotel in the middle of the night.

Hotel: It is New Orleans and it is an older building not everything is perfect, but they are clearly trying to keep up with updates/freshening it up. (They forgot the painter tape on the entryway buttons.) Very nice, clean entrance. Very polite and helpful valet and door people. Quick and accommodating front desk staff. They even saw we stayed there before so gave us a free upgrade!

Room: We were upgraded to a suite. The room as a whole was a nice size with a bedroom, bathroom, and sitting area. The sitting area had a sofa bed, chairs, wet bar and television. As it is an older hotel, there were minor issues that could use some attention (older, not antique, furniture, no curtain on small window, and no hot water in wet bar), but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was all marble and well-lit. The vanity was large enough for all my things and then some. Ample supply of towels. The shower had good pressure and remained hot throughout. You have to hold the handle to flush the toilet and it could use a deep scrub on the marble, but overall clean and well-laid out.

Bedroom: Closed off with its own door for privacy! Also has a second flat screen television on the wall for convenience. The bed was definitely not a king (as we had reserved in regular room), but it was comfortable. Slept great both nights. It has two tall windows letting in beautiful sunlight. It also had one of the biggest closets I have ever seen in a hotel room with a great big full length mirror. Only complaint is no overhead light so it was a little tricky getting around at night to go turn on the lamps.

Overall, it was well worth the value paid and I have already re-booked for our next trip to New Orleans with our son.

Room Tip: Suites are nice and large with separate areas for sitting room, bathroom, and bedroom. Great for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KAP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Let’s start by saying that there is no place like home. That said; let’s get to the important stuff!

Upon check in we were informed that our room would be next to the elevator. We expressed concern and were told that we had nothing to worry about. Reluctantly we proceeded to our room. To our surprise and amazement, the room was extremely quiet and comfortable. The pillows were amazing. As a matter of fact, the entire bed was really, really comfy. As stated previously, there is no place like home. However, given the age of the hotel, I feel that it was quaint, charming, and adequately clean.

The hotel is on the trolley line (world famous street car), so maneuvering around the city will not be a problem. However, should you desire to drive, vehicle retrieval is done quickly.

There is no exercise facility on the premises, but to my surprise, arrangements have been made for the lack thereof. With a coupon obtained from the front desk, your room key and $7.00, you can gain access to the Elmwood Fitness Center that’s located in the One Shell Square building (walking distance from hotel). I think this is a great idea as it breaks the monotony of the everyday tourist walk. You get a city view from the 13th floor, as well as the opportunity to get a glimpse the One Shell Square building. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to utilize the fitness center on this visit.

I’d like to mention that TerRon and Chante (front desk employees) were very professional and helpful.

In summary, I really enjoyed my stay and I will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Charming hotel close to the French Quarter but far enough to enjoy the sights. St. Charles trolley is right outside the door to carry you to French Quarter, Garden District, Lafayette Square. Suites are huge. The restaurant was closed for vacation but easy access to plenty of other choices. Just off from the Business District so able to walk the area and even at night could catch the trolley or staff able to direct you good food. Concierge even walked us to a small bar one street back from the hotel entrance. Staff was so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the older buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diann_13NewBraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a nice small hotel. The rooms were pretty clean and the furnishings were fresh. Convenient to most things in New Orleans; either a short walk or streetcar ride. Staff was very friendly. The street noise was a little loud on the front of the building and our room occasionally had a smokey smell, but otherwise a very pleasant stay. Worlds better than their sister hotel, The Place de Armes in the French Quarter.


MEMBER
HOME
ABOUT
HOW A+ WORKS
A+ ESSENTIALS
RESULTS
FAQ
APPLY
NEWS
CONTACT Orleans,

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back or side for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingartist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Charming hotel, close to everything but still away from the bustle. Across the street is a streetcar stop for the St. Charles streetcar, and across the other street is Lafayette Square, a historic landmark. We traveled with our dog, a German Shepherd and the staff was really nice and welcoming.There were no issues and the dog and we felt very comfortable. The room was spacious, newly renovated. Great hotel, with character that reflects the NOLA culture and charm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 330Nicoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Liked: Small, charming, really nice staff, away from French Quarter and right next to the Arts District, streetcar right out front, huge suites, great happy hour.

Disliked: A bit of inconvience due to remodeling (some noise & no water for about 4 hrs. one day), the maids could have done a little better job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank froglegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It's confenient to everything. We walked to the French Quarter daily, to the Garden District, St. Louis Cemetery #1, and the WWII Museum all from the hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. Our room (403) was huge and very clean. If you want modern instaed of aged patina, etc., this isn't the hotel for you, but if you want convenience, clean room, and efficient staff, stay here.

3  Thank fifthteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#91 of 166 in New Orleans
608 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#105 of 166 in New Orleans
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#143 of 166 in New Orleans
660 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#51 of 166 in New Orleans
1,441 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £82 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing