We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Had a wonderful stay here for a long weekend trip to New Orleans. The location is ideal for exploring the French Quarter and the shops on Royal Street but also just steps from Canal St. and the streetcar. Every employee I encountered was pleasant and helpful, from the doorman to the front desk to housekeeping. I had a king bed room and while small, I would hardly call it cramped. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. I did have noisy neighbors but it's New Orleans; you can't expect it to be as quiet as a nunnery!
The only downside was the renovations that the hotel is undergoing. While the work is going on, continental breakfast was offered in a room that was too small for demand. There was a line out the door on a Friday morning. My friends and I decided not to wait and went to a local cafe instead. A shame since breakfast was included in the rate. Overall though, Hotel Monteleone is worth it and will be even better when the renovations are done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmp324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear hmp324,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Monteleone with us and others. We are honored to have received a perfect 5/5. We are sorry you came to visit during renovations but you must use it as an excuse to return again to see the completion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,703 - 6,709 of 7,532 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely go back. The room was very nice and clean. Hotel staff were friendly and most were very helpful. We had the breakfast buffet, which was wonderful. A nice touch with the buffet was that you could order eggs as well, any style. Wonderfully friendly staff in the morning. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was delicious but pricey. There was a lot of noise at night, but we expected some. There was some good music and some was just noise. One night there was a guy singing on the street and, at first it was OK, but after 3 hours it got a bit much....and it wasn't even Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JauntingJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear JauntingJen,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the noise. Please come back on your next trip to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We just celebrated our anniversary in New Orleans . Anyone who has every visited New Orleans in the summer is familiar with the intense heat and the high humidity. Be forewarned, if you can't stand the heat don't go in August. Since we had done this numerous times before, we chose to return.

We stayed at the Monteleone, a beautiful, old hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. It is celebrating its 125th birthday this year. There is some renovation going on that involves the two restaurants that will continue until November. Room service, pool bar service and the light menu at the Carousel Bar is still available but not the restaurants themselves. To help compensate, all hotel guests were given a free continental breakfast. This is a minor inconvenience because there are so many restaurants, of all kinds and price ranges, within easy walking distance.

We love the old hotel and its rich history and the effort that is made by the management and the staff to keep it alive and thriving. We will continue to make it our hotel of choice when we are in New Orleans. Be sure to visit the Carousel Bar if you go. It is just off the lobby and is looks like a brightly colored carousel that slowly rotates the bar stools, on the outer ring, around the centeral core of the bar. It is a wonderful place to spend time out of the heat of the summer. It has a good combination of locals as well as tourists.

We did have one problem, a leaking shower. We made management aware, and without hesitation, they moved up to an up-graded room.

If you are going to New Orleans, go by and say "Happy Birthday" to the Monteleone

Room Tip: book on-line through the hotel web site and see their special packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southernstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear southernstyle,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone to celebrate such a special occasion. We are so happy to hear you love our history. We hope to see you time and time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very attentive staff and a clean, well run hotel in a quieter part of the quarter. TheCarousel is a great place to listen to an old piano and drink the house cocktail, the Vieux Carre.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

i love this hotel, if you are from new orleans and want a nice classy breather, this is the place to go. the staff is incredible and the experience is always first class this is the only 5 star place in the city other than the roosevelt.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Spent 3 days in a Junior suite and had a great time. The hotel is historic and old..but thats the way it should be. Romm was appointed well and housekeeping kept it immaculate. Great to be so close to Bourbon street but easy to escape from its maddness when the party is over! Would gladly return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were beyond pleased with the service and accomodations of this classy hotel! Favorites: Location, Room Service, Carousel bar, Rooftop pool, Gym. We really liked being close enough to walk to the French Quarter, the river or Bourbon Street. We stayed on one of the top floors, 14, which is supposedly haunted, but luckily didn't see a single spook! It is a pricey place, but you get a good value for what you pay, and it is the perfect place for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor if you can, it minimizes the noise; Room service food was very good, and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

MSgirl47,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,790 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £162 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing