We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very calm oasis, excellent staff.”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very calm oasis, excellent staff.”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Although there was some building work gooing on, this in no way spoiled our enjoyment of the hotel. all the staff were very friendly. The aircon in the room was pleasantly quiet (not often the case in the USA). The Carousel Bar was a nice novelty too - it carries the drinkers round every 15 minutes....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear pearscr0,

So glad to hear our renovations did not disrupt your stay in any way. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,741
    1,571
    477
    212
    117
See reviews for
1,191
2,690
222
1,468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited New Orleans and didn't know quite what to expect. We had the most memorable time there.

The Hotel Monteleone will always be our place to stay when we visit again. Our room was on the 12th floor and was quiet. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff treated us so nicely in every respect - the front desk, the two concierges, the bellmen, the garage attendants, and the breakfast wait staff.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. We just had to have a drink one night at the Carousel Bar even though we never drink!

We could walk to all of the sights from the hotel. It is located right in The French Quarter.

Hope to go back again soon! Our thanks to everyone at the Hotel Monteleone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear A E,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are honored to be labeled "Unforgettable." See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very nice looking hotel with great customer service. I recommend the Carousel bar.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a terrific hotel. Great location. Rooms are very nice. No complaints. There is a roof top swimming pool which is really nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebuggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Fantastic hotel in French Quarter one street over from Bourbon St. Nestled among quaint antique shops but close to night time hustle of Bourbon St. The hotel is under renovations but it is a minor inconvenience except for restaurant availability for breakfast. Continental breakfast being served in a smaller room for now. The only place to stay in New Orleans. Clean, well appointed rooms,comfy king bed...miss it already!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear Atoche,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your time at the Hotel Monteleone and miss it already. You will just have to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed in the hotel in August 2011 for a medical conference. The hotel is nicely located in the FQ and everything of interest was in a walking distance. The service was horrible and no matter how much money I wanted to spend, the hotel staff made it impossible to spend it. Tried to book a spa package, they were rude and not very accomodating. Pre-ordered some champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, but never got them. The only excellence I saw during my stay was embodied in the one of the managers Mr. Bradley Latham, who made our stay bearable and did above and beyond to rectify all the mistakes others made. If I ever come back it would be because of his professionalism and the amazing people skils.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asefermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear asefermd,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
336 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Reading the prior reviews, we were worried we had picked a bad hotel. Some folks loved it and other hated it. We were so relieved to find it was an excellent hotel, and you just have to take it as it is. The location is fantastic, right in the French Quarter. That said, 2 nights the jazz music kept up awake, and we were able to watch drug deals go down from our hotel window. Welcome to the French Quarter. The plus side is we were in a very safe, posh hotel and did not have to walk far to enjoy everything that Bourbon Street offers. The rooms are quite small, but big enough for Mom and I to enjoy the luxury of the room. The bathrooms are quite small, and get very hot as there is no vent/fan. It was big enough to do everything we needed to do, and we kept the door open so it was not such an oven. Some of the doormen were exceptional, but the one guy who only spoke German was terrible because he could not answer any questions. Why have a doorman who cannot communicate in english? The free breakfast had a very long wait every morning, but it was free. The hotel pool was very small, but it was on the rooftop, and had several seating options and very nice towels. We would stay there again for the price (got an excellent package with Frontier Fly Away Vacations-I will use their vacation packages for every trip in the future! Excellent service, value and options). We knew what to expect and enjoyed ourselves. The lobby was awesome, the location was awesome, just remember what the French Quarter is famous for.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and small...enjoy what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLMRocksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear LasVega5,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed all the Hotel Monteleone had to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review. We always appreciate learning about out guests' experiences. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,453 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,555 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,099 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing