We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for wife's 58th birthday”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Been to NOLA 4 of the last 5 years. Wife's birthday is a week before Christmas and this hotel was in a perfect location with a perfect atmosphere for that season.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestMidagedCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear MidwestMidagedCouple,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone for such a special occasion. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,685 - 6,691 of 7,537 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Magnificent hotel that puts customer right at the heart of its offer.

Small but comfortable rooms, great location, bags of old-world charm. Superb rooftop pool (best avoided at the weekend when it is full of pig-ignorant redneck fratboys).

Special mention to the lovely Danielle on Front Desk who sent fresh milk and cookies to my room (no charge) when she discovered it was my little boy's 9th birthday.

She was absolutely perfect. Just like her hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrippoDicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear TrippoDicko,

What a wonderful review, thank you. We always appreciate our guests feedback and are happy you had a pleasurable stay. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Monteleone was a charming old world hotel, with southern charm and a New Orleans experience. The room was small, but well decorated, if not over decorated, and clean. Upon entering the hotel, one is immediately struck by the hotel's opulence and royal treatment by the staff. The concierge gave us great tips regarding local eateries and local points of interests. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Michael267,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your future trips to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We go to New Orleans often and generally stay in the quarter or on Poydras if going to a conference or Saints or Hornets game. Hotel Monteleone's location is the best in the quarter as far as we are concerned. Closest to everything but just a block off of the loudest activity so you can still sleep.

Just know that currently the restaurant is being remodeled but Mr. B's is across the street. The remodeling did not interfere with our stay but there can be an elevator wait.

Room Tip: Once splurged on a beautiful suite but it was next to the elevator. Do not get a room by the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayou_Believer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Bayou_Believer,

Thank you for giving the Hotel Monteleone a try after many trips to New Orleans. We know there are many choices in the city and appreciate you choosing us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Due to some major renovation, the hotel's dining option was closed BUT the charm and vibe of the hotel wreaked of old time New orleans southern wealth. The service was great, the rooms were very nostalgic and kept true to it's times but the most fun was had at the city famous Carousel Bar and the rooftop pool.
Location was a major plus as it was "hidden" away enough from the madness that is Bourbon St.
Overall, a beautiful hotel in a funky city!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxx3442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear maxx3442,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy our current renovations did not disturb your stay and hope you will come back again to see the finished product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Monteleone numerous times. My parents stay there, my grandparents stayed their on their honeymoon back in the 30's. It's a true gem in the city of New Orleans and was my favorite place to stay until last weekend. My husband and I visit New Orleans at least once a year and always try to go for my birthday in August. This year a friend was having his wedding at the same time and blocked rooms at the Monteleone. We checked in on Friday and left our car with the garage. We never saw, accessed or drove the car until we checked out on Sunday. When we picked it up I walked around the outside to check for damage and my husband checked the console glove box in between the seats. Everything seemed ok. I got on my phone to call my mom to tell her we were leaving and checked Map Quest about the detour on I-10. I regret not paying more attention to the inside of our SUV. On our way home we noticed "Steve" carved into the INSIDE of the passenger side door. The angle is such thought that the vandal had to be standing outside the car, which we thought was strange. I immediately called the hotel and were told to email pictures which I promptly did from my phone. The next day we were told that the security tapes were viewed and they saw no wrong doing. SInce I know that "Steve" has never been in my car and this damage was not there before my stay I asked to speak to the manager. He called us two days later and told us the same thing, he viewed the tapes and saw no wrong doing. He did tell us that it is hotel policy that the windows of all vehicles are left down and the keys in the ignition, confirming what we thought about the signature. He assured us only employees could access the elevator to the cars. Well obviously that is not true or one of the employees did this. The staff has always been wonderful and I know most of them have been employed there for quite some time so I doubt it was a staff member. I'm sure it had to been someone who accessed the garage somehow. The parking manager also told us when we "return to the hotel" for another stay he's comp us overnight parking - as if we will be returning. I never plan to set foot in this hotel again. He didn't even offer to return our money for the $64 plus tax we spent on our trip to park in the garage over the weekend. If you do choose to stay at the Monteleone I HIGHLY suggest using another garage as theirs is not safe!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank eeewelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear eeewelch,

I am sorry for your experience and would like to speak to you further. Please contact Hotel Manager, Steve Caputo directly at scaputo@hotelmonteleone.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We checked into the hotel about 5 days prior to Mardi Gras. The rooms are a bit small in the hotel but they are immaculate. We were able to hit some great restaurants nearby and the parades were just 1 1/2 blocks down to Canal Street. It was a great location, the staff was excellent and we are going back for mardi gras 2012.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkkkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear kkkkathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Monteleone. Mardi Gras is a very busy and exciting time and New Orleans and we are honored you chose to spend it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,250 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,795 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,491 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £163 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing