We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This IS the French Quarter!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. It's an original, in the most original city I've ever been. The room, while small, is charming and spotlessly clean. The bathroom is pretty tight, but modern and attractive, with quite a large tub, perfect for soaking away a long day or getting ready for a night on the town. Room service food was decent, and reasonably priced. You can't beat the location, and it's easy to find....the huge sign guides you back from the reaches of the Quarter. The whole place is steeped in history, and staff is great. I would definately come back to the Hotel Monteleone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovelowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear ilovelowly,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are happy to hear you appreciated our historic past. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,687 - 6,693 of 7,704 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My two girlfriends try to go somewhere fun every year. This past October we met in New Orleans at the Hotel Monteleone. We lucked out with a lovely suite. Since the hotels two restaurants were closed for renovation, the hotel offered a wonderful expanded continental breakfast in a lovely dining room. The concierges and the doormen were so helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shopping, directions, etc. New Orleans is a fascinating and fun city.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade to a suite. No view from our window to speak of, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear sheryljean,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone for your girl getaway. You must come back and experience the new restaurant and refurbished Carousel Bar soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Unbelievable hotel in a magic part of the world. New Orleans. Best most relaxing vacation. Ever. Historical and interesting. Would recommend to a friend. Go there. Stay at this awesome hotel. Just do it.

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms in this property. Go here when staying in NOLA and enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 and thought it was a beautiful place. The lobby was decorated for the holidays, the Carousel Loung was great although we only got to sit at the bar once it was always packed. The room was small but how much do you really need when you are traveling with two people. I thought the bed was great and the pillows, oh the pillows were so comfy. Location was great and we enjoyed the French Quarter. This was our first trip to New Orleans and would have no problem staying at Hotel Monteleone again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear sharon214,

So glad to hear it! We love when new visitors fall for New Orleans. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I went with my 10 year old on December 30 to spend a jazzy New year's and do the tourist thing in New Orleans. I had no hotel when I arrived and picked this hotel while at the airport when we arrived. We really lucked out because this was the finest and best hotek we could have picked. Though our room wa snot too large, it was well appointed, clean, elegant and was pretty quiet even though on Roal Stret. The room included robes which came in handy. The hotel has a small but heated, nice pool on the rooftop and a cafe as well there, form where one can see the city sights. The Carusel Bar--a favorite of Hemingway, is very pretty, though a bit expensive. However, the hotel is so pretty and so elegant that it was a pleasure to stay there. I could not have chosen a better place because any closer to Bourbon (three blocks away) would have been too noisy and here was perfect on the pretty Royal Sytreet with anquique shops, restaurants and many a jazz group on many corners. Walking distance to Preservation Hall, Court of Two Sisters, the French Market and Cafe Du Monde, to Canal Street and the trolleys, just perfect. Will definitely look for any advertised specials to come back to this hotel when I return to New Orleans. It m,ade our stay most pleasant and have no complaints whatsoever from this hotel. Just praise. I recommend it for business, couples, friends, families, or if alone.A jewel of a historical hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank sevillanitacubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear sevillanitacubanita,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone for your recent stay during New Year's Eve. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope to see again on any future trips to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is our favorite hotel experience in New Orleans so we try to stay here every year for our anniversary. Luckily it falls during the Christmas holiday so we take advantage of their Papa Noel special of $99/night. They also accept any size dog (even 75lbs) and have bowls, treats, bags and toy ready in the room. They are currently renovating all of their restaurants so they offered a free continental breakfast each morning to compensate. The location is unbeatable! The service is of the utmost! The classic architecture sets you back in time. The Carousel Bar in the lobby is always a fun time. The only negative was how long it took to get our car from their valet. Understandably, it was during their busiest holiday time. Until next year, take care my Monteleone.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Pay extra for the larger room, it's worth it. King size room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMacKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear TMacKnox,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Based on all the glowing tripadvisor reviews (ranked #9 in New Orleans??) and the not-exactly-modest rate, I had much higher expectations for this hotel. This hotel plugs itself, both on its web site and in its pricing as being something of a luxury hotel. It is not. The rooms are atrociously small. I had a feeling they would be based on the fine print on the web site, but the double (not queen) beds crammed with minimal closet spaces and a teeny tiny bathroom made staying in the room to pass time undesirable. The towels/bedding and other such amenities were average at best, as was the staff. No one was rude, but no one was out-of-their way friendly or helpful either. Don't get me started on the noise - NOTHING is soundproof in the hotel. I was on a high floor away from the street and could hear all the street noise from Bourbon, everything in the hallways, and even the people in the room next door to me laughing and conversing. The bathroom is not soundproof either. Speaking of, on the last night, some friends a couple rooms down the hall had all the lights go out in their bathroom, and the hotel did nothing to accommodate.

The lobby was chaotic, though my trip was during a holiday weekend, so that is somewhat understandable.

I know people rave about the location, but let's be honest, all the major French Quarter hotels are about a 5 minute walk from each other. I kick myself for succumbing to peer pressure and not paying the $60 more a night to stay in the spacious, luxurious Ritz Carlton or Windsor Court rooms, or substantially less to stay in the Omni, JW Marriott or Sheraton, which I cannot imagine to be any less average than this one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear fnr2001,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. We have taken your comments into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,368 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,588 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,313 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £147 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing