We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So over rated..”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So over rated..”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have been to New Orleans quite a few times, this time we ventured out to Cajun Country, and rented a car, I guess there was a convention of sometime going on - no grand festivities, (though NOLA always has something going on) this was the only hotel we could get a room at. Very expensive and noisy - it took us 2 hours to drive one block, granted, that was certainly not the fault of the hotel, but it it just so snobbish, having said that , the hotel service was nice, but could not do anything about our "last room" booking and the horrific noise, drunks outside and we were on the second floor. They did however, waive our parking fee. The hotel is a bit stuffy, I get the good reviews, the carousel bar is worth a visit, without the stay. People that bragged about the smoking policies - I would recommend that they loose the smoking policy - outside too in the hotel areas.

Room Tip: If you are smokers, then I would choose a room on a higher level and not overlooking Royal Street, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Funinnola,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Carousel Bar and your time in New Orleans.

We regret that you were disturbed by noise outside. W have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based.

Thank you,
Hotel Monteleone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,808
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,216
2,731
226
1,479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monteleone because the wedding reception we were attending was being held here. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was amazing, the food was wonderful, and our entire experience was positive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

With how repressive all of the anti-smoking rules are becoming, the 25% of folks who still enjoy the occasional cigarette or cigar are being shut out of many places. We're not complaining..not a lot. We still have places where the wind blows the smoke up and away, like poolside seating.

Thank goodness the Monteleone hasn't decided to vote against those of us who smoke premium, hand-rolled cigars.

I, for one, am happy to have places I can smoke where there is plenty of space and air circulating for my smoke not to bother someone who is thirty feet away on the other end of the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 839Laughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This lovely old hotel has seen better days. Still like to visit the carousel lounge but will stay elsewhere. Checked out after first night as the room was unkempt and noisy with box type window fans howling outside. Too many other hotels are upgrading in this region to select this one

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2hotrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear 2hotrides,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and we have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity. Your comments have been taken into consideration and your feedback is appreciated.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of style and service upon which our reputation is built. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the newly renovated Carousel Bar and Lounge and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Hotel Monteleone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendship, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

EXCELLENT service and great value for a 'luxury' hotel. Staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms were very clean, and we were surprised not to hear any outside noise being in the middle of the French Quarter!!!Keurig coffee maker in room= AWESOME! The rooftop pool was excellent along with the bar up there. The menu could definitely be expanded for the roof top pool to offer at the very least what the bar downstairs offers. That was our only disappointment. One of our days there we ordered out and had it delivered to the pool! The door men were absolutely outstanding as was the concierge and front desk!! Everything NOLO is within walking distance! Definitely will return here in the future!!!

Room Tip: Go High! top floor river view= beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I would have given the hotel 5 stars except the lady at reservations was just rude! I simply wanted to request a rollaway bed in our room if available and you would have thought I was asking for her first born child. However upon check-in we were greeted by Deven and he was very helpful. The hotel was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. When we checked out the girl in reservations had made a billing mistake (imagine that) but it was taken care of very quickly at the front counter. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a beautiful property. It is all about location when we travel! Cafe Beignet was just down the street and Mr. B's Bistro was right across the street.
The check-in process went well. The hotel staff was great and quick to respond to our 2 small requests.
Our room was located on the 10th floor, and was very clean.The beds were comfy and the water pressure in our shower was exceptional. Never had such good water pressure in a hotel, ever. The decor was beautiful, hats off to the decorating staff! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatout247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,720 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing