We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monteleone
Nearby Hotels
US$518
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$366
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$352
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$232
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$351
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maison Dupuy(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$386
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$429
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,091)
Filter reviews
8,091 results
Traveller rating
5,445
1,730
536
243
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,445
1,730
536
243
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarousel barcriollorooftop poolfrench quarterroyal streetbourbon streetbeautiful hotelperfect locationrooms are smallold world charmbeignetsstreet noisemississippi riverparking garagejackson squaremardi graslucille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,501 - 6,506 of 8,091 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for a week for a conference. The stay was wonderful. The staff was exceptional, the room clean and cared for, and I was lucky to have an incredible view of the river.

You can not ask for a better location. It is on a quite street yet close to everything. The bar is fun and a good place to meet fellow travelers.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Lucille,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone during your conference. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us! We're so happy you found your accommodations exceptional and your view of the Mississippi River to be incredible. We hope to see you again during your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Monteleone has been our home base in New Orleans for many years and we have always loved it for its location, style, and especially the staff.

In the last year, however, the hotel reopened its restaurant, Criollo and the Carousel Bar and this place is hopping. The restaurant was fabulous for dinner...get the oyster appetizer... and the bar was bright with lots of open space and entertainment nightly.

The regular rooms are a bit small but very nice. Try a Salon Room which is larger with a great bathroom and whirlpool tub, or go for broke and get a Vieux Carre or Riverview Suite...over the top for views and luxury.

And make friends with the staff, the concierge desk, and Marvin in the bar.

The location on Royal is close to Bourbon, but far enough away that you don't get all the noise.

Room Tip: Request 8th floor or higher for a good view of the river or the Quarter. The Vieux Carre Suites are corner rooms with views of the river and the Quarter. Royal Salon Rooms all face the river with big double windows for a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Gregory,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear that Hotel Monteleone is your "home base" in New Orleans! We are so happy to hear what wonderful things you had to say about the Carousel Bar & Lounge, Criollo Restaurant and our friendly staff. We're so glad to be such a nice part of your New Orleans experience. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was very dissapointed with the service i recieved in the hotel...I could not order room service breakfast what I wanted to and even I was given free breakfast downstairs and told that it is not Monteleone style to say NO to guests but thats what happen to me over and over in that hotel.No free internet,No variaty of food at night (room service again),No knowledge of surrounding restorants,No deliveyr of Valentine gift to the room in a timely fasion, No greeting/baggage handlers on the arrival,dirty refrigerator...
I say overprised with very average service.

Room Tip: dont stay in that hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leramd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Leramd30,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Monteleone. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken have been brought to the attention of our management for review. We value your patronage and do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the type of service and hospitality which we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

New Orleans in December @ The Monteleone is absolute perfection! You can't beat the Papa Noel Rates & the staff is outstanding. The rooms are clean & it's the perfect location. We've been going there for over 12 years.

Room Tip: Preferred Rooms are bigger & if you can swing it~The Vieux Carre Suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtc190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear dtc190,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad you were able to enjoy the holiday Papa Noel rates to spend the holiday season with us! We are truly honored to hear that our staff provided you with an outstanding experience, which has kept you coming back from the past 12 years. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. My room wasn't ready by 435 pm--"not yet cleaned"--I was given "a larger room", which is amazing, because my room was tiny=--barely enough room to walk around the bed. Tiny tiny bathroom, but towels were nice and fluffy. Good water pressure. Rooms were also really noisy--I heard every profanity-laced word of the fight outside in the hallway between some guy and his girlfriend at 4am. Wifi was slow. Bed was too squishy, and had a butt-sized divot at the side of the bed. Excellent fitness center

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear ADMA,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during your recent business visit to New Orleans and your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay. It is our goal to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the bathroom amenities and our fitness center. We value your patronage and do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the type of hospitality upon which our reputation is based.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews