We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We've stayed at the Hotel Monteleone on our last few visits to New Orleans and our stays have always been great. We stayed again recently and we must say that Gloria, one of the housekeeping managers, is a star among the employees. We had several special requests for our room prior to our arrival and she exceeded our expectations. We love staying here and she just made our visit even better! The hotel is in a great location in the Quarter and has a beautiful ambience. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to Gloria and hope you will be back to see us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,834 - 5,840 of 7,617 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Loved this hotel - location was perfect, room was small (as expected) but bed was really comfortable, service was outstanding, and the beignets with praline sauce were incredible. Will definitely stay here again next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel and that our service was outstanding! We hope you will be back soon for more beignets and pralines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I just returned after staying here for 5 nights. Fabulous location as it's a block away of the craziness on Bourbon Street. The rooms are small, but cozy and well kept. The beds and pillows are soft, so if you like sturdier mattresses like I do, it'll be a bit of a challenge to get a great night's sleep. The rooftop pool was a saving grace with two young children (7 & 9) during mid June. The location is absolutely key since you can walk everywhere! The restaurant, CRIOLLO, was my favorite meal of the whole trip. Although we were located 3 doors down from "the" haunted room, I unfortunately didn't hear or see any paranormal activity :) - maybe a good thing traveling with kids? I'll definitely return to this hotel and have already spread the word to friends and family that this is the place to stay while in NOLA!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutAndAbout46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to see you enjoyed your 5 night stay, our rooftop pool and Criollo! We hope you and your family will be back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Monteleone has a convenient location in the French Quarter, but is overpriced. Rooms are good, but the bathrooms are very small. Toilet is crammed in a narrow gap between wall and sink.
The Riverview room on the 16th floor was recommended by a poster in the lobby. When a friend and I went up to the Riverview Room hotel staff told us that we "were not supposed to be there." I am 72 years old and had no intention of vandalizing the room. I had Eggs Benedict in the hotel dining room and they arrived with the muffin so hard I could not cut through it and no yolk in the eggs. When I complained to the waiter I received a lengthy explanation as to why this happened and no offer to correct the problem.When I asked the waiter why the problem had not been corrected since the cause was known, he simply stared at me. It would have been easier to find ice water in the Sahara Desert than at the Monteleone. Temperatures and humidity were in the 90's. There are no drinking fountains in the hotel and no containers of water were put out for the convention I was attending - absolutely unheard of. When I brought this problem to the attention of the front desk I was told I "would have to talk to the Banquet Manager." I have stayed at many hotels that charged half as much but delivered far better service

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We deeply appreciate your feedback and are very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been brought to the attention of our staff and we will work to improve these aspects in the future. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another to chance to prove that we are capable of offering the quality of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was meeting up with a friend who was at a conference and only spent one night. I got in early and had lunch at Criollo inside the hotel. I had the soft shell crab which was excellent. The waiter was very attentive and gave great service. Then off to the Carousel Bar which is beautiful. Definitely try a signature drink. We stayed in a room on the 12th floor which was very clean. The bathroom was small but totally functional with all the toiletries you forgot you needed. The bed was extermely comfortable with soft linens and extra pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed Criollo and our beds! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team and we look forward to having you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent 4 nites here in June. Located 1 block off Bourbon on Royal St. It is easily within walking distance of all the FQ great restaurants. Mr B's Bistro is right across the street. Rooms are a little on the small side as most older hotels are but were CLEAN and the bed was comfortable. Roof top pool is small but nice. The lounges are full most nites. The Carosel bar actually is slowly turning. Great place for couples as a get away.

Worthy mention.....Gerald the Doorman. Friendly and full of knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaspolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and got to speak with Gerald! We will be sure to pass along your kind words and hope you'll be back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Nicely appointed we requested and was granted a quiet room. Service got a 4 instead of a 5 because room was not ready until after 4, which I understand is common on a Saturday. The mattress could stand to be upgraded but other than that the room and Hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineappleexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thanks for taking time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are sincerely sorry you had a delay getting in to your room. We have also taken note that the mattresses could use upgrading and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,868 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £143 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing