We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in the French Quarter”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a lovely, romantic place to stay. Rooms are delightful and fitness room is superb. They have recently refurbished their Carrousel Bar--it is wonderful. .Staff is super friendly and the hotel is nicely located. You can walk anywhere!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the highest level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slk069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly at the Hotel Monteleone. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,510 - 5,516 of 7,519 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

The place is dated and tired. Their focus is weddings, weddings, weddings. The pool was closed 2 of the 3 days there for courtyard weddings. The bathrooms are old. Hairdryers antiquated and ineffecient. There are no vending machines to get softdrinks. The restaurant/bar closes at 10pm, even though it stated 11pm on Saturday. I reviewed via hotel link and was told that there is a multi-million dollar renovation pending, but no one offered to discount my room until that happens. Location is great but, I will stay at another location next time.

Room Tip: Do not stary near elevators. Wedding participants are up and down all thru the nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Pookie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We apologize that the amenities of our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the management team for review.

We do value your patronage and would hope you would extend us another opportunity to deliver the excellent service our reputation is based upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Family owned hotel, beautiful lobby and entrance, great carousel bar. Really nice place to stay, definitely 4 star worthy. The location is great, right in the French quarter. A little expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for the kind review! We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was in New Orleans to attend a conference/stay at the Monteleone. The hotel has the charm/visual appeal of a European venue; the staff is courteous, professional, and helpful; and the location in the French Quarter is exceptional.

The room that I had was a bit small by today's standards (but well within the norm for historic properties) and was appointed nicely. The bathroom was large and well lit.

The meeting rooms were very nice, and the views from the reception areas on the upper floors were fantastic. Be sure to have a drink by the pool, and don't neglect to visit the Carousel bar. Fun!

There were a few details that were disappointing, but they were not of such a nature that they would change my opinion/rating of the hotel. For example, one meeting room had a floral display that appeared to be a good three days past its prime. Such things may not seem to be important, but they can serve as a measurement of a hotel's standards. In the case of the Monteleone, this detail was not such that it would alter my opinion of the property. (I also found that I could hear the occupants of the next room, but I think that was due to a child using its "outdoor voice." It was a bit bothersome, but not enough to disrupt deep sleep.)

In summary, be sure to visit the Hotel Monteleone - even if you do no more than have a drink at the Carousel bar!

Room Tip: As for a non-smoking room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesIslandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us for a conference at the Hotel Monteleone. We'd love to have you back for another stay - business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of a blocked wedding party. My husband, son and I stayed in a standard double room.

When we arrived they didn't think they could get a room for us (despite reservations being made 6 mos earlier). They did get us into a room finally.

It was a miserable room. Super tiny, with the double beds you could barely even walk around. The beds were very short, my husband and I both had trouble with our feet hanging off of the end. (I am 5'7"...not all that tall).

The phone didn't work and despite trying to get it fixed multiple times it was never fixed. The power in the bathroom kept tripping out the circuit. So multiple times I was stumbling around in the dark trying to find the circuit reset switch. Not sure why this happened, we didn't even have anything plugged in in the bathroom. But when it did happen not even the lights would turn on in there. Again it was never fixed during our stay.

We had a lot of trouble getting them to clean our room. We were out of the room from about 8am to 2pm every day and they only cleaned it once in the 5 nights we were there.

We tried room service one night. With the still broken phone, my husband had to go down to the front desk to order. When the front desk forwarded him to room service, the lady wouldn't take his order because she thought the front desk was playing a trick on her, she laughed at him and hung up. Finally after calling again and explaining the phone situation we were able to get a pizza delivered from the restaurant.

When the pizza arrived it was burned to a black crisp over half of the pizza and just absolutely awful. At this point we were so sick of everything we didn't complain.

We had further poor experiences with the restaurant when we went down one morning to order beignets. The beignets arrived burnt and no one wanted to eat them.

We have a younger kid (6 years old) and were happy to know we would be on the 10th floor and away from the noise. Well it was not to be, the walls for the hotel were super thin. Friday and Saturday night we were up most of the night listening to our adjacent room residents swear, run into things, and generally party from about 11pm to 4am. It was an absolutely horrible experience (I am still wondering how much of this language is going to be permanently part of my 6 year olds vocab). My son was up part of the time whimpering and crying because all the shouting and thumping scarred him.

The nights when we didn't have noisy neighbors were still awful; constant sirens and a musician with an electric guitar who played from 11pm to 1am made things even worse. I guess I would really caution against staying at this hotel unless you are the party type; it was pretty quiet from 7am to 6pm or so.

The only positive things I have to say about this hotel are the below:
- The hotel is reasonable clean
- The doormen are great. They were quick to grab a taxi for us, help with bags, and give recommendations on places to eat. They were kind to my son as well and made him feel a bit better about being the only kid in the whole city (Or so it seemed).

Room Tip: If you want any sort of sleep don't get a room that faces Royal Street or Canal Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance, and service which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Old world style and charm hotel ..a class act. Perfect location, nice rooftop pool, gym and the Carousel Bar swings with fab cocktails and music.Concierges Anne and Anita were extremely nice,knowledgeable and helpful.Ask for a room on the higher floors to assure a respite from the
boisterous FQ. Rooms are large and very clean.This is the hotel I will always reco and return to in NOLA>

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from ice machines and elevators.. and on one of the higher floors above 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for the kind review! We hope to offer the same luxurious experience to every guest that stays at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived at midnight and the place was wild!! No surprise we've been to NOLA before and love it, you just need to go with it. We brought our things up to our room, it was dated but super clean and a huge plus was you could control the A.C. to your liking. When we were ready to go out we asked at the desk and they were so happy to help us. My husband and I were really excited about our trip, we were meeting our adult children there too!! We had a great time !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24theroad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for writing about your positive experience at Hotel Monteleone! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,238 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,251 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £161 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing