We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monteleone Spa Aria”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Monteleone Spa Aria”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was treated to a Day at the Spa by my husband while he was attending a class in New Orleans. I was pretty a little apprehensive about a hotel spa and the possibility of it being very "stuffy" and "stiff shirted". Not at all. Although every employee that I came in contact with was very professional, none were uncomfortably "uppity". It was a wonderful experience with joking and laughter, but at only at the right moments. The mani/pedi, facial, and massage were exceptional! Would recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kajnnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Spa Aria with Hotel Monteleone! Sounds like a wonderful and relaxing day. Please return soon for another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,735
    1,570
    477
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,189
2,690
222
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
458 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a pleasure to stay in this gorgeous hotel with a feel of the past. Can not say enough about the professional staff who were so helpful. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with smiles and made to feel welcome. Check in was such a pleasant, friendly experience. I asked if they could put us on a high floor and they were gracious in doing so. Loved our room. Beautifully appointed, colors so relaxing and inviting, very elegant. We had a good view from our window. The bathroom had a mirror above vanity and another large one on adjoining wall which made the room look larger. Loved the beautiful mirror above the desk, charming old world feel. Housekeeping did a great job, our room was VERY clean and beds were so comfy. It was nice to have the smaller number of rooms on each floor, our floor was totally quiet all four nights, no outside noise at all. This is an older hotel which has been beautifully maintained. The location is perfect for exploring the quarter and close to excellent restaurants. The carousel bar is pretty and a great place to meet friends for a drink.We ate breakfast in the restaurant and food and service both excellent. We have visited NOLA many times and this is by far the best hotel we have experienced! We will look forward to staying at this gem of a hotel in the future.

Room Tip: higher floors nice, I think any room would probably be grand based on our experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in November. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

One of the better hotels we've stayed at in the French Quarter. Excellent location and walking distance to most of the main sights. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was decent size for the Quarter, clean and comfortable. Good bathroom and lighting...also comfortable size. Hotel bar was fun...especially on Halloween night.

Parking was of average price for the area ($32), but convenient and easy to get to. Valet only. Attendants were friendly and trustworthy. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnbravila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so friendly, comfortable, and fun. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Hotel Monteleone and enjoyed 99.9% of it. Just one off moment with a uninterested rude employee...BUT Robert the Doorman and Kathy in Criollo and everyone else was, in every way, superior to most other hotel employees in the world.... that they mandated that I give a perfect score...and besides everyone has a bad moment every now and then...right? Room was very clean, restaurant was wonderful and bar was unique with a great wait staff. Location is FANTASTIC as it is just far enough away from Bourbon and Canal streets to allow a good nights sleep but just a 3 or 4 minute walk when it is time to live it up! Loads of great restaurants and P.O.I. are also within a 10-20 minute walking distance.
Robert at the front door can direct you to anything you are looking for...utilize his talent!
Kathy in Criollo is an absolute joy...REQUEST her. You will thank me.
We are extremely happy we stayed at the Hotel Monteleone....

Room Tip: The rooms run on the small side so if you need a bigger room ....go big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tonslab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the trip was wonderful! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The service and the staff at this hotel are excellent. Upon arriving in our room, they had a large tray filled with assorted fruit waiting for us (nice touch) The location of this Hotel is in the "French Quarter". and it is within walking distance from everything in the French Quarter. 1 block from the famous Bourbon St.. 1 block from the Street car station at canal street and a 5 minute walk to the riverside. They have a famous bar inside the hotel (the carousel bar) and really nice restaurant "Criollo". Breakfast was a little pricey $17 for an omelette but very good. You can find less expensive breakfast options within walking distance. Dinner was superb and moderately priced compared with the fine restaurants of the area. The rooms were a little small but nicely decorated and clean as can be. it was an overall great exeprience at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONYEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Not anything to complain about here. Beautiful old hotel that has the perfect combination of modern, fresh rooms with the distinguished antique look that you would expect in the French Quarter. Loved the location and the service. Rooms were clean. View not much, but usually keep windows closed anyway. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWaters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Hotel Monteleone! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

A hotel is only as good as the people who are on staff and the people at the hotel are "tops"! We had a glitch with our room and everyone and I mean everyone jumped to help with anything and everything. The attitudes of everyone were fabulous. The front desk receptionist, Crystal, remembered our name every time she saw us. She is a real asset to the front desk. Managers Vinesha and Stephanie were always available, and Bertilia even sent us a wine and cheese basket when she found out we were celebrating my husband's birthday. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the French quarter and is very quiet on higher floors. The restaurant in the hotel, Criolla, is top rated, and is also wonderful. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,036 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,542 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,092 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing