We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel and our stay there. Earl in the garage was awesome as were the other staff members. Rooms were great and hotel is right by everything in the French Quarter. New Orleans was a great place to spend Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTJDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for the kind review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,865
    1,606
    488
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,237
2,768
228
1,483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Monteleone provides guests with the quintessential New Orleans experience. With the Royal Street location in the heart of the French Quarter, the perfect cocktails and music in the Caroussel Bar, the beautiful lobby, the impeccable guest rooms and the most gracious staff, this hotel sets the stage for an unforgettable visit to the most authentically fun city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in December. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, AL
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Yes, there are great big skyscraping corporate hotels (Marriott, Sheraton, Westin) which do good service for the returning conference crowds and seasonal Krewe demands. ...and of course, there is the "new" Ritz. But NOLA's two grand dames of hotels...The Roosevelt and The Monteleone...these are special properties. Special for those who stay there, special to the people who work there, and special to the community they serve. This is about The Monteleone.
The Monteleone is a must-stay if you come to New Orleans. The service is wonderful, the new Criollo restaurant is a tremendous upgrade from the "Old Guys Club" restaurant they used to court. Most rooms have been updated entirely. The rooms feature single-cup Keurig service (with tea included,) IPod docking clock/speaker, turndown service, and more. Good beds and pillows...so good, sometimes you don't want to leave...but you must! Monteleone is right on Royal Street, just block or two from EVERTYTHING in the quarter...short walk to Napoleon House, or SOUBOU, or Bourbon Street or the trolley...a $5 cab ride to Frenchmen Street for fabulous entertainment, couple of blocks to the Casino if you fancy that.
But, it may be hard to leave the Monteleone's CAROUSEL BAR! Yep, that's right, a round-de-round for a bar. ...and what a bar! The mixologists are top notch...you MUST have a Pisco Sour there! Or one of the many hand-crafted cocktails from REAL and proper ingredients. The Hotel Monteleone...Check in, park your car and forget it, unpack and...you're home! You WILL come back....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RealDeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, special, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent three nights here over thanksgiving with a party of six in two rooms. The hotel was delightful. New Orleans was extremely busy with Thanksgiving and the Bayou Classic football game but the hotel rooms were peaceful and quiet. Very comfortable. I would have liked more pillows, four for four people is not a lot. Minor complaint!

Room Tip: If the busy street bothers you, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qatargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. We'll take notes about the pillows and see what we can do! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Grand old place in the middle of the French Quarter. Rooms are, as you'd expect, on the small side, but perfectly decorated. Unfortunately, the shower in my son's room broke on a Sunday and was not fixed prior to our leaving on Monday, but the place was very busy. Could never get into the Carousel bar - jam packed at all times. Very busy lobby, somewhat small. Car valet was quite efficient, but you really don't need a car if you stay here. More of a headache than it might be worth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.
I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. There certainly are times of the year the hotel is very busy, and we do our best to ensure the comfort of all of our guests to the best of our ability. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It is rumored that I was conceived in a suite at the Monteleone some fifty five years ago.... and a triip to Nawlin's wouldnt be complete without at least one night in this lovely hotel. Recently, a dozen of my Memphis Tennessee friends rolled on down to the BIg Easy to celebrate a 40th birthday. Needless to say, we had a grand time at The Carousel Bar because the new bartender Neil kept us hydrated with Ramos Gin Fizz cocktails well into the late afternoon. also I want to mention Sarah, Anita and Dave on your fabulous hotel staff roster. they made us feel just like family and doted on our every wish during our visit. Of course we will be back and will most assuredly pop by the Monteleone, with friends in tow!! Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,620 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing