We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel Monteleone.... Oh how I looked forward to loving you. Unfortunately that was not the case. Truthfully we started out on a sour note; Not once were we assisted by a doorman! Our arrival was a struggle, we had four large bags and had difficult time even entering the building. The room was very small, The sheets were fine however the heavily patterned waffle blanket under the sheet was very uncomfortable. Both nights that we were here we switched out the bedspread for the patterned blanket. The decor, heavy French; which I was expecting. Walls were thin and you could hear activity in the halls.
First night here I stepped on something sharp that pierced my foot!
On the plus side, the lobby is exquisite, the hotel is in an excellent location and was decorated beautifully for Christmas.
I'd like to mention; Concierge (Anne) was extremely personable, Jani at the front desk was darling and Carmen in your essentials store was a delight. We loved the carousel bar, the bartenders were helpful and engaging, the Pims Cup perfection. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dianna430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone .

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,764 - 5,770 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Best location, staff, and atmosphere in New Orleans. We have stayed at many other hotels for conferences and business but when we have a choice, we always pick the Monteleone. Everything about this hotel is outstanding, including the Carousel Bar.

Room Tip: We have stayed here five times and never had a room that was even mediocre. Remember this is an his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for the kind review! We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were just visitors to the Carousel Lounge, but very much appreciated the Lobby with all it's elegance and fresh flowers in the middle of the winter. Smelled so good. Loved the Lounge, with it's rotating seats around the bar, lovely staff and appreciated the nudes decorating the walls. A bit pricey, but well worth it. So worth it, we made two trips to have beers and shots while in New Orleans. Will def return..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We went to New Orleans with friends to ring in the New Year. We wanted to stay right in the middle of the French Quarter. We had reservations at the Wyndham across the street and arrived after midnight on December 31. We checked into the Wyndham, a cockroach infested, vagrant filled, deplorable mess across the street. ( read my review of the French Quarter Wyndham). We RAN across the street ( it was now well past midnight on New Years Eve) to this LOVELY hotel and they were able to accomodate all of us for just a bit more than we were paying at the Wyndham.
The rooms were small but very well appointed. The bed was extreemly comfortable with soft, high tread count sheets, the lobby is oppulent with one of New Orleans most popular pubs located in it called "The Carousel", and they have a wonderful rooftop with a heated pool and work out room.
You will not disappointed with this place- go for it!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and we could hear alot of street noise so ask for a higher room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in January. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Really liked staying here, it's quiet. The Carousel bar is a little dated, they definitely stick to the script and you won't find new or exciting craft cocktails here, but the drinks are very nice. Definitely a great choice for older 50 something on a business trip crowd. Very quiet. Which we liked a lot.
Didn't like that the concierge seemed to be of the opinion that going anywhere outside of the French Quarter is akin to claiming the earth is round. Many of the concierge in many FQ hotels will give themselves apoplexy trying to keep you from going outside of the prescribed tourist bridle path. Yes, act like an idiot and trouble will find you, but use common sense and you can have a GREAT time.
New Orleans has SO much to offer, We went to see HOT 8 Brass Band at Howlin Wolf, Kermit Ruffins at Bullet's, had excellent dinners at Jacques Imos and Maurepas Foods, did some vintage shopping on Magazine and some drinking on Saint Charles. All of the above destinations were met with stern and dire warnings from the concierge as well as all of the cabbies. You definitely get the sense that someone somewhere is getting a kickback for recommending the same ol same ol. It is a wasted trip to go to this incredible city and stick to the Disney-McDonald's-Corporate-old guard-pre packaged for your convenience-Quarter. Not to say you should run around waving your wallet while walking alone through the CBD at night. That's just dumb. But the hotel was nice and we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the quieter your sleep will be. That's just a hotel rule of thumb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Here for a business trip, so no choice on hotel. Nice rooms, but most of the group waited hours for their rooms. Conference facility good, and roof top pool very nice for breaks during meeting. Unfortunate that the ability to turn the rooms and get people in was so difficult. May have been just the date- Saints/Cowboys game- so if you are looking for good location to all the French Quarter, would still recommend hotel when you can get it at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper for review.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Monteleone during Christmas holidays for the past several years. On the whole, the hotel is lovely - the Carousel Bar is a big hit with tourists, and it's on Royal St. in the heart of the French Quarter. We came in on Christmas Eve, and since I requested early upon reservation a few months prior, a check-in early after our long road trip from Chicago, they had a room available for us, which was great.

It is an older hotel, so the rooms are smaller than your modern, more expensive hotels, but they are nicely furnished, with Keurig coffee machines in the rooms now instead of the more traditional small coffee makers, which was a nice touch.

This hotel allows dogs - $100 non-refundable deposit, plus $25/day. Kind of the norm for most nicer hotels allowing dogs

There is a designated dog floor on the 3rd floor. Our old dog stayed here, and our current dog got his first Christmas here. IF needed, they can provide a water/food bowl upon request (we had our own stuff, so didn't need it). Not every hotel in the French Quarter is dog-friendly, or if they are, there is a weight limit, usually on the very small always get attention from other visitors staying there.

There is an exercise room on the 16th floor, with an outdoor heated pool overlooking Decatur St. and the Mississsippi River, which is nice. The exercise room is small, with several elliptical machines, some treadmills and weight machines. The weight machines were a bit awkward for me (different from the ones used in my gym back home), but the LifeFitness treadmill was great.

Location is great, close to all things in the quarter. They do have valet parking at $35/day, and since we drove to visit family nearby, it was good to have that option, albeit pricey (but the norm for the Quarter), but then again, parking is at a real premium in the Quarter, so indoor parking is a good thing.

We will be staying there again when we come back in '15, and plan to do so whenever we travel with our dog. Service is great, and friendly too. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, the 3rd floor is the designated pet floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,631 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,393 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £150 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing