We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Criollo is Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Criollo is Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel Restaurant Criollo was absolutely amazing. James (our server) has outstanding taste. His knowledge of the restaurants dishes lead us to have an incredible dining experience. I would plan to stay at the hotel just to try new dishes every night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Syrissr388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at Criollo Restaurant! We aim to provide each guest with the same experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,531
    1,501
    450
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,135
2,550
214
1,407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel overnight on a weekend and I must say its a very nice hotel and the staff was great. The pictures speak for them self and the location is excellent. There are plenty of little shops along Royal St. and the quarter is only a few blocks away.

Now with the bad. We had a room facing Royal St. and it was pretty noisy. There was a fellow playing guitar for most of the night but it's NOLA. Valet parking was over 40 dollars and we had to wait over 30 minutes to get our car when we left. The lady took our ticket but didn't give it to anyone. The valet had to go look for our car because she lost the ticket.

Overall I would stay here again because the staff was great and the hotel was top notch, just not sure about the valet situation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and are pleased to hear you were happy with so many of our other services. We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The staff was very pleasant. We enjoyed the Carousel Bar a few times. My husband and I stayed here for the Rock and Roll Marathon. Everything was within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and there wasn't any noticeable noise at night (our room looked toward the river).

Room Tip: I enjoyed the room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was the first time staying here (3rd trip to NOLA) and while the HOTEL amenities were amazing the rooms (we were on the 14th floor) were so/so. I understand that it's an old hotel but it just wasn't what I expected for the price I paid for the rooms.
Overall I'd recommend it (but I would also do some research to see the cost of comparable hotels in the area),the service was fantastic, the bar was amazing, the food was great as well. Location is great as it's on Royal St. so you are around the stores and a block over from Bourbon Street so you are close enough but not too close to the craziness! I just wasn't overly impressed, like I thought I would be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your time joining us in February. Your comments have been brought to the management team for review. We'd love to have you back for another stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a few days around Christmas 2013 and I found it to be well appointed, like the old hotels in San Francisco, with a comfortable bed and soft cotton bedding. I had a small suite and it was a great place to be when not out exploring.

The hotel decorated for the holidays and it was done in a classy way. There were always several staff members around who were helpful and friendly. The hotels location is great, walking distance to great shopping and awesome restaurants.

The food service was excellent and I wasn't disturbed by housekeeping or staff. While some would disagree, I would have liked to have had access to an in room mini-bar for bottled water and soda. Watch out for the big service fee bump on food and drinks, it's not as bad as Las Vegas but it's still a heathy increase.

Overall I was impressed with my short stay and I would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appraise6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just returned home from the New Orleans Rock and Roll Marathon. We stayed at the Monteleone. We are repeat guests and I must say it was as wonderful as ever.
Great room,(spotlessly clean),excellent staff and service, and perfect location!
The lobby is beautiful and of course the Carousel Bar cant be missed!
The Keurig(sp) coffee maker in the room was a plus. Great bath products, plenty of Can't wait to return !!!

Room Tip: High floor- great view- quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Monteleone! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I were in New Orleans for a long weekend and stayed at the Monteleone. We stayed in the least expensive room category booked through a vacation package and I expected it to be "just OK." We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was wonderful. It was on a low floor (5) and did not have a great view, but the furnishings and décor were lovely and the bed/pillows were very comfortable. Despite the low floor number, we never had a noise problem and we were there for election night! The staff was always helpful and every part of the hotel we were in was exceptionally clean. We did not have many bags, but the doormen were certainly friendly and would have helped us carry luggage if we had needed it. The location is fantastic, we walked all over from here. There must be a dozen incredible restaurants within a couple blocks, making dinners a difficult choice of which delicious place should we go to next. Incidentally - regarding the hauntedness of the Monteleone - my wife was a little freaked out when we arrived back here at around 2:30am on a Friday night and she thought she saw someone walking the hall, but when she looked again they were gone. Haunted? Maybe... Excellent? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in February. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing