We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location or restaurant”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location or restaurant”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here while in town for a wedding. The location is excellent. Walk to absolutely everything. The real treats, however, were in the hotel. We had dinner in the bar on the first night and, to our surprise, the hotel was hosting a Beatles cover band in the Carousel bar that night who were outstanding. The service at the restaurant was friendly, cordial, and even a bit entertaining. The food was hands down the best I had in New Orleans -- the root vegetables and satsuma oranges that accompanied my dish were they freshest and tastiest I'd ever had. We also got a free bottle of house wine for staying in the hotel -- not the best wine ever but it was free! After dinner we squeezed into a packed bar and listened to the band. Best Beatles cover around.

As for the rooms, they were fine but small and standard and the only reason I don't give Hotel Monteleone an excellent rating...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

That being said, we're happy you enjoyed so many other aspects of our hotel, and we hope to have you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,865
    1,606
    488
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,237
2,768
228
1,483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Enjoyed a 1-night stay at The Hotel Monteleone as we were staying in Baton Rouge, La and took a short drive to New Orleans to check it out! Hotel staff, Concierge & Front Desk were very friendly courteous and helpful. Restaurants, lounge, poolside bar and foyer were comfortable and attractive. Room was cozy with a nice king-size bed, bedding, decor, bathroom, internet (courtesy of hotel), cleanliness, etc. were great! Maybe a little picky but would have suggested that they repair the chip in the tub as it is a minor repair that can be remedied with little effort.
Parking upon arrival was good but when we were departing wait-time was around 25 minutes which was rather annoying given it messed up our plans to avoid traffic on the I-10 Highway drive to Baton Rouge. Otherwise, a very memorable experience was had by my wife & I in NOLA and The Hotel Monteleone!

Room Tip: We were very happy with the King Size Room! Suggest using your AAA membership card or booking online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastFredA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April. Your comments regarding room fixtures and parking wait have been brought to our management to for review. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has old world charm, a friendly and helpful staff, every amenity, and a lovely, heated rooftop pool. We stayed with our kids and had a fabulous experience. The regular double was a little cramped. Next time we will upgrade to a larger room

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brklynmoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so beautiful and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First time staying here and it was wonderful! From the time you pull up until the moment you leave the service it great! The best part was there roof top pool with drink service and bar!! Location was perfect for every place we went in the Quarter and also just a short walk to French Market. Will stay here every time when in New Orleans if it is available!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpc2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We came to Nola in search of a fun vacation. The monte leone had great reviews so we came. The staff is friendly specially miss Ann at the concierge and the Criollo restaurant manager.
Nevertheless we had bad experiences such as finding holes in the bed sheets. Also we called one day to housekeeping to have our room made ASAP but they never came, we'll like 2 hours later. Finally I became ill and we asked for a doctor, firstly they don't have medical contacts but they don't allow a dr to do a house call in the room due to a possible liability. All they did was to refer us to a clinic nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prostisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is really well located in the heart of the French Quarter. This is ideal when you have only 2-3 days to visit New Orleans. The decor is lovely and my friend and I stayed in a room on the 14th floor with nice views of the river. We didn't have any issues with noise coming from the street.
I had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it was delicious. The Carousel Bar is fun to do once if you can sit on the turning platform. Their Hurricanes were very tasty!
The staff from front desk to bellman to waiters and bartenders were very friendly and helpful.
The only thing that I would say could have been better is the mattress. It was soft and sagging in the middle and my back was a bit sore because of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all0verthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hotel Monteleone. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I apologize. We do hope to see you back in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I love this hotel! It is charming and elegant with an exceptional staff. The Carousel Bar has the best bar bites, the Jambalaya is fabulous! The location is perfect to get all over the Quarter but at block of the insanity of a Bourbon Street makes for a great nights sleep. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing