We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monteleone
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (8,099)
Filter reviews
8,099 results
Traveller rating
5,449
1,732
537
243
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,449
1,732
537
243
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarousel barcriollorooftop poolfrench quarterroyal streetbourbon streetbeautiful hotelperfect locationrooms are smallold world charmbeignetsstreet noisemississippi riverparking garagejackson squaremardi graslucille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,682 - 5,687 of 8,099 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

They say the key is location, location, location; but in this case we can't forget the staff. They are well-trained and always anxious to help you with questions, directions, suggestions. We caught a mid-week, three night stay between Jazzfest weekends. Hotel location is great with one-block access to Bourbon Street, Canal, and the St. Louis railway. And it's not even a bad walk to Cafe du Monde and the Central Market for an old gimp like me. There is even a Walgreen's next door.

Hotel Monteleone is not without its flaws, though. While the room is nicely decorated, our upgraded "preferred" room was the smallest encountered on a 3,700-mile, several-state road trip. I can't imagine staying in the 60 square feet smaller "standard" room. You'd have to step out into the hallway just to change your mind!

There is no refrigerator. The coffee maker is one of those fancy Keurig things, but absolutely NO extras [creamer, sugar, etc.] are provided. HINT: Maybe you can go downstairs and shoplift some cream and sugar from the gift shop coffee bar.

Housekeeping was ATROCIOUS the first time. We got a new house keeper for the second day and she did a MARVELOUS job.

Parking at $40 a night is stupid, but we did it for convenience. HINT #2: There is a garage about half a block away that will do a deal at $25 per night with in and out privileges. Call in advance to make arrangements.

... and $10 a day for Wi-Fi? Puleeze!

We are looking forward to our next trip to NOLA. Will we stay at Hotel Monteleone? Probably [Location/Staff], but will park somewhere else. And I will be much more confrontational about the housekeeping.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces huge, noisy ventilation fans. Make sure you are high up [we were 12th floor] if you are on this side.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit. Your comments regarding your room have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper for review.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. We hope to see you in NOLA again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for our Jazzfest Weekend. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. You are immediately greeted by friendly staff at the door and at the front desk. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The only negative was the window of the room faced a brick wall. The beds were comfortable and the shower was large and had good water pressure. The location was perfect to take in all the sights and sounds of New Orleans. The Carousel Bar was unique and lively.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and we did not have any view. The room was quiet and clean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my 22nd visit to N'Awlins and my 2nd stay at the Monteleone. I have stayed at numerous hotels there and not yet found my go-to place (except for the fabulous but pricey Windsor Court). I was there over Jazz Fest - the room was $375 plus taxes for a total of $425. Our room was small, old-fashioned and cramped with no view. There was no air conditioning control in the room; I had to call Engineering to have them either turn it on or off - no in between. I could hear the garbage trucks on Iberville at 5.00 a.m. There was no radio in the room; no niceties like a free bottle of water or a newspaper each day. The lively Carousel bar does not make up for all the negatives. I could have stayed at the much better Ritz Carlton for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I am truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management however, regarding windows in rooms, we ask our guests to remember this is an historic hotel and we are unable to change the location of the windows or the areas beneath the windows. At your next visit, at the time of check in and if availability permits, if your room is not satisfactory please let the staff know and we will help you switch to a room more of your liking.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a fabulous hotel in a great location. Close enough to Bourbon Street, but, not in the middle of the craziness. Very beautiful with a great gym and a fun bar!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lateberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you back at Hotel Monteleone soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The Monteleone is absolutely beautiful. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The rooms are small so if traveling with a group of friends you may need two rooms. The beds are only doubles in a double room. There were 4 of us in one room and if we weren't on the slender side we definitely would have needed two rooms. The roof top pool was excellent and the hotel location cannot be beat. We loved the carousel bar (get there right after they open to be sure to get a seat) otherwise it is crowded during the day and night. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was great. So much food! We will definitely return here if we are in New Orleans again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pImomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so beautiful, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews