We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location- Traditional Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monteleone over the Jazzfest Weekend. Location was great, hotel was a bit dated. Our suite was quite small for a suite, but worked great. The bell staff was super helpful and the front desk went out of their way to allow us to check in early. The bar was alsways super crowded and a bit hard to sit and grab a drink prior to heading out for dinner. Overall a fine stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We hope to see you back again in NOLA soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,145 - 5,151 of 7,630 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was my first time in NOLA and through research and recommendations I booked my stay at the Hotel Monteleone. The location is right in the heart of the French Quarter and is perfect to walk everywhere. I was worried about the possible noise level being in the French Quarter, but the room was surprisingly quiet. The room itself was sufficiently large and nicely appointed. The beds are quite soft and the A/C also worked fantastic (a huge deal in New Orleans). The City view was somewhat underwhelming so request the river view if you can. The rooms and lobby are full of old world charm. The service was also fantastic from start to finish from all the employees whether it was the front desk, the Valet's or the Cleaning Crew. I did want to go to the Carousel Bar, but good luck with that. Even during the week people are lined out of the door by 4pm. My stay was mostly during the week and the hotel did not seem crowded, but once Friday night came around there were swarms of people going in and out. This was Memorial Day weekend though so I dont know if it always gets that bad on the weekend. I declined to eat at the hotel with so much incredible food everywhere you look. When I go back I will definitely stay here again, and it will probably not be during a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: The city view was underwhelming so if you can request the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in May. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Monteleone many, many times and it is usually my first choice in NOLA. It has an old world charm and the staff are very attentive. When the airline lost one of my suitcases overnight, the front desk staff offered me a razor, toothbrush and numerous toiletries without me having to ask for them. The rooftop pool is always very nice, although on this visit it was very crowded and some of the folks in the pool seemed annoyingly drunk. The location can't be beat. It's only a block from Bourbon Street (but without all the noise and commmotion), a block from Canal Street, and only a few blocks from most of my favorite restaurants, the river, Jackson Square, the IMax theater, Harrah's Casino, etc. The Carrousel Bar is always great (if you can get in).

So why do I rate this a 4 instead of a 5? Well, for one thing, even the upgraded room is quite small for the price charged (but bigger than the standard room which in some cases isnt much bigger than the king bed), and storage space is limited. The bathroom is also small with no good place to store toiletries. The heavy chrome shower head was not properly affixed and came crashing down, narrowly missing my foot -- someone had incorrectly tried to attach it with two thick rubber washers,covering the threads and I reinstalled it tightlyly with one washer. Although nicely decorated, the wallpaper was peeling in 3 places. the clock radio had a connector for an old iPod or old iPhone but no connection for a newer phone (I'm starting to find Bluetooth connectivity in other hotels). The hotel provided nice terrycloth robes but twice the maid removed one without replacing it (housekeeping promptly delivered .new ones but it took a phone call).. An expensive breakfast charge appeared on my bill for a day when i never set foot in the hotel restaurant.

So, overall, I gave the Monteleone a 4, which is still Very Good. But for the price charged it was not quite a 5.

Despite all the little problems, the pros outweigh the cons and the Monteleone is still my first choice, but in the futrure I will be more apt to also check the prices at competing hotels. My room rate varied each night, topping out as high as almost $300 on a Friday night and almost $400 on a Saturday night. That seems like a lot for a very small room with peeling wallpaper.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are tiny. Opt for the next level up. Some rooms have a view of nothing but an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I apologize.

We value your patronage and hope to see you back in New Orleans soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

You just don't park your car anywhere in New Orleans, Mr. Earl at the Monteleone has been doing it right for 19 years! My wife and I enjoy staying at the Monteleone and touring the French Quarter.
Thanks Mr. Earl
The Bergeron's

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words about Earl. We'll be sure to let him know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment one steps into the venerable lobby greeted by an enormous, exquisitely carved grandfather clock, the Monteleone does not disappoint We stayed in a 12th floor suite. The elevator is fast and our room was very spacious. Ample chairs and sofa and desk , beautiful fabrics and furnishings, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in . The location is beyond convenient and Joey the concierge is spit on with recommendations. The food is excellent and the boudin and fried green tomatoes at breakfast are fabulous! Dont firget to have a cicktail at the hoppin Carousel Bar, but find a seat by 3pm, Happy Hour comes early here. Truly an exquisite hotel, all around that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funonourfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, exquisite, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

All the employees were outstanding. Ms. Charlene in the Dining Room was the best. Mr. Johnson in the Car Parking section always treated you like a king. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Front Desk Employees went out of they were to always assist me or my family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This past weekend we were visiting New Orleans for a wedding. I called the Hotel Monteleone to reserve one of the blocked off rooms for the wedding party nearly a year ago, and they booked me a the Bienville House instead, which is I believe their sister hotel, without asking or telling me. This happened to several people in the wedding party. Just be aware that they apparently put you other places without telling you when you call to book a reservation, so play close attention to whatever confirmation info. you get. By the time we noticed what the Monteleone had done, that hotel was booked up so we had to stay at the Bienville House, which was very frustrating.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank AnonymousG9967VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,323 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,558 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,295 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £140 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing