We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very great location.”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very great location.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location. Most well known restaurants are literally around the corner. The rooms are a bit on the small side but the bathrooms are updated and clean. The best part of this hotel is the rooftop pool. The view from the rooftop is really eye pleasing. He only downside I have for this hotel must be the brick wall view that was outside of my window. However, I did not spend much time in it do to the crazy night life. New Orleans is a great place I would recomend it for all ages.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Monteleone! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We also recommend requesting a room with a view on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,865
    1,606
    488
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,237
2,768
228
1,483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want to be down in the action, stay here. It has a great vibe with the carousel bar right at the entrance and lots of New Orleans sights and sounds. If you want a quiet retreat, don't stay here, although our room was extremely quiet and cozy. The doormen and staff overall were fantastic, as well. The hotel is right around the corner from Acme Oyster Bar and Grille but I would recommend Felix's which is across the street. We encountered the most interesting wait staff and spent 3 hours just chatting. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in June. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite in the quarter. Great service and the hotel is always busy with a great vibe. Being one street off bourbon is close enough but not too far away. I would recommend highly. I think the bar is one of the best in New Orleans!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woolybooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We greatly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I want to commend the Hotel Monteleone parking attendant Townsley Hamilton. He was very attentive and helped me get my luggage into my rental. He took very good care of me and was extremely polite! Great job!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our parking service. We will share with Townsley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stated at this hotel with a larger group while on business. We absolutely loved the location of the hotel- right in the French quarter. We were able to walk pretty much anywhere we went.

The rooms were clean with crisp white linens and great black out blinds to keep the sun out while fighting off hangovers from fun nights out on Frenchmen street. My husband found the bed to be a bit soft for his liking, but I had no issues with it. We had a spectacular view of the river and overall found our stay quite enjoyable. The staff were friendly and knowledgable. We found the rooms to be a bit dated with their decor, but in the grand scheme of things didn't change our overall experience.

We ate at the hotel restaurant twice. Once for appetizers when we arrived, and for dinner one other night. The appetizers were good the first night, but my meal was quite poor the other night. We really enjoyed the carousel bar and would often grab a few drinks there prior to heading out for the evening. Service at both the restaurant and bar were excellent.

I would stay at the hotel again, but would skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Monteleone in early June for a girls weekend. It was a great location on Royal St in close walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. The carousel bar was a great hangout and the bartenders made fantastic mixed drinks. The rooms are small but clean and updated...other than the beds, which have seen better days. Ask for more pillows...you will need them!

Service was excellent from the concierge to the bartenders to check in to valets.

The pool on the roof was small so it was packed everyday.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor; never had a noise issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone! It sounds like a fun girls' trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am a Director of Meetings for my association. we held a meeting at this hotel for 250 people. We took up close to 20 meeting rooms. It took our attendees about 2 days to learn the floor plan of the meeting space as it is a bit confusing. Overall, it was a great experience and hope to bring the meeting back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor if you don't want to hear street noise which could continue until mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We're so glad to hear your meeting went so smoothly. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you back in NOLA soon - for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing