We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel; forget the bar”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel; forget the bar”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were here for a birthday celebration and all stayed at this hotel. The rooms are small and dated but clean and comfortable. Need to replace the box springs: I've slept on waterbeds with less movement. Great location just two blocks from the circus of Bourbon street, but still walking distance from all the French Quarter attractions.

The lobby is beautiful with marble and chandeliers with friendly bellmen and front desk staff.

Avoid the carousel bar unless it's very slow. Wait staff was unfriendly and the bartenders overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Consider a double; I think those may be larger than the kind bed rooms. Consider higher floors to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and The Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing at the Carousel Bar and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,873
    1,607
    489
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,240
2,772
228
1,485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

With all the debauchery and hustle and bustle in the French Quarter, it's nice to know the Hotel Monteleone is still a gem. Very classy. well kept, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I am a returning guest and we had an excellent trip to celebrate our friends 40th birthday. Cocktails were wonderful in the Carousel Bar with Marvin, the rooms were clean and very well kept.

Service was always with a smile and we received excellent care while there for 3 nights. My only feedback would be to keep the pool a tad cleaner. There was lots of debris and cocktail straws floating around which grossed me out. I was looking for the net as I was prepared to clean it while in there but couldn't find it.

Service was excellent tho!

Room Tip: I would ask for a view. My room looked over rooftops which wasn't a nice view. My room was 858...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lechillura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Director of Sales at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described.

We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been heard!

Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything about the Monteleone and the on site wedding reception was outstanding!! The staff, the venue, the food and the service were perfect. It's a gorgeous hotel. They truly know how to host a beautiful event.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkilg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so pleased that you found the staff, venue, the food and the service at Hotel Monteleone to be so wonderful. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel staff was excellent..The bar was fun and friendly...The only complaint was the size of our room...I'm sure they have larger if you ask. You can't beat the location...Just off the loud streets but within walking distance of everything! Great Stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MokoBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us during your wedding stay.

We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is an old, family-run hotel that is a refreshing change from the chains, nice though they might be. The rooms are small and many are probably not handicapped accessible. I do wish the windows could open! But even with these concerns, the feeling of the old hotel as well as the ammenities of nice bathroom, clean rooms, comfortable bed makes this a wonderful stay. The roof pool area is lovely with a great view of the city. Staying in this hotel makes you feel a part of New Orleans in a way that I never have with the chains.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor- -a bit noisy but wonderfully French Quarter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, clean and friendly. We certainly agree and we are so glad you felt like you were a part of New Orleans in that special way!

We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved this hotel. Staff was welcoming and accommodating to any requests we had. Perfect location and tons to see and do...all within walking distance. It's a block from Bourbon Street, but we did not hear any noise from it at all. Rooms were on the small side, but that is to be expected in older hotels. Rooms were clean. Lobby and bar area were beautiful. Nice to have the rooftop pool but space there is very limited so go early. This hotel takes up part of 3 buildings if I remember right, so to get to the pool can be challenging depending on where you are staying. Our particular room (on 15th floor) did not have a working safe and some of the furnishings needed some TLC. But those were only minor issues. Stayed here with girlfriends for a long weekend and we had the best time. Also recommend Mr. B's across the street for dining as well as Irene's. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We couldn't ask for anything more with this hotel. We had a great suite on the 11th floor…room 1180 that overlooked the river, had a living room, 1.5 baths, a beautiful shower and jacuzzi tub, two flat screen tvs, and a really comfy king bed. The staff was awesome and accommodated our request for a room with a view. What a surprise to walk into that room. They recognized our anniversary with not only the upgraded room, but a card and drink tickets to the carousel bar…get there early though if you want a seat. We never heard any noise from the street, so we must have been up high enough and far enough away from Bourbon St. This place is a block from Bourbon street so everything is right outside the door. Great place and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect anniversary! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing