We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected a bit more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Menphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Parking garage staff were mediocre and forgot to get my key when we arrived; I was called at 11:15 PM to walk them down. Nobody came to collect them despite the hour, (I would have expected this at a minimum from a 5 star hotel). although it was annoying to get called at that hour in the first place. When we left, our car was left on the street and we loaded our bags in traffic. There were several slots in the garage to safely load. The staff seemed preoccupied with a Ferrari, not our SUV. It took three calls to get the safe unlocked from a previous guest & it took two days to get a second bathrobe. The concierge, front desk and restaurant staff were exceptional. Our room was fairly clean but not above average on arrival. My wife stepped on a straight pin on the floor. Overall B+, but we'd stay again if we found a promotional rate.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicknsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and The Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing within our parking services and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,596
    1,520
    464
    209
    116
See reviews for
1,160
2,597
217
1,424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was in awe of the opulence as I walked into the lobby. The staff greeted me right away and was delightful and very helpful.The room had a sense of history, while offering modern conveniences. I immediately felt at home and enjoyed a few of the amenities offered during my stay. The carousel lounge is a must for the uniqueness and friendly bar staff. I will return to NOLA and this will be the only hotel I will ever stay at! A French Quarter must!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip and we love hearing that our customers feel like home during their stay! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location, beautiful rooms, although a little small for a couple (standard King). There a lots of weddings here which make for a festive atmosphere.
I was a little disappointed on the pricing- booked Thursday through Friday and didn't realize the rated go up about $90 a night starting Fridays.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so glad you had a great trip with us at the Hotel Monteleone! We love hearing feedback from our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at the Hotel Monteleone! Each year the three of us take a girlfriend's trip together. This was one of our best! Hotel Al and Raoul treated us like family and ensured our visit was memorable from setting up tours to checking in with us to see how we enjoyed the outings. The hotel is older but very well maintained and charming. The Carrillo Restaurant had excellent food while the Carousel Bar was a lively place to have a nightcap and listen to live music. The staff was wonderful. One morning our Keurig Coffee maker did not work. The desk got us fresh coffee and was so apologetic about us being unconvinced. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. It even has a Walgreens next door. It is a bit of a walk to the Farmers Market and Frenchman's street( we walked back from Snug Harbor at 10 pm and felt safe) Thank you for the beautiful memories!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip!

We love hearing that our customers create beautiful memories with us during their stay! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staff was very knowledgeable, friendly, accommodating and the room was awesome, view of the river and no noise at all! 1181
Emailed the concierge ahead of time that we hoped for a room with a view on an upper floor away from the elevator. Joined iPrefer and had free wifi...free to join iPrefer. We got upgraded to a deluxe king from the regular traditional king; the staff telling us they wanted to do that for us. Thank you Stephanie you are so sweet!
So close to everything, travelled by trolley, taxi, bike taxi and on foot. Will stay there again, and highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: higher floor away from the elevator and with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our sixth trip to the Hotel Monteleone in five years did not disappoint. This historic hotel continues to surpass expectations and provide the perfect luxury experience. Staff members—from doormen, to reservation desk, to bellhops, to garage attendants, to maid service—make our stays consistently memorable and enjoyable. Special requests are always accommodated, and expectations are continually exceeded. The Monteleone remains part of our ultimate New Orleans experience again and again and again…thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. We love our returning customers!

It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return again soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent experience. Room was ready on our arrival at 9:00am. courteous staff and immaculate room. Conveniently located in the French quarter and not far from the airport. The carousel bar in the lobby is a happening place to be as is the rooftop pool and bar.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled you had a memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,003 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,235 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing