We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was awesome! The lobby was very pretty, and it's location makes it very convenient for the guests to diffuse into the New Orleans culture. The pool was very nice and unique but the workout facility should of had free weights instead of the six machines. Besides that, everything was really nice and the people at the garage were great. Ask for Earl when you're there because he's the man. I would use this hotel again if I come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are so glad you had a great trip with us!! We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,324 - 5,330 of 7,907 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly, professional, attentive staff, beautiful styling, creative food and drink -- this hotel is a wonderful travel experience by itself. The perfect location within the French Quarter made it all the more exciting and fun.

Room Tip: High floor, river view suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly, professional and attentive. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer for the price. The lobby is gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The locations is perfect in the heart of the Quarter two blocks from Bourbon Street. The rotating Carousel bar is a fun place to hang out. The roof top pool is small, but very nice. The gym has a great view overlooking the river. We ate at the restaurant one night; the food is good but there are much better places to eat in N.O. (like Mr. B's across the street). Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravens32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are so glad you found our hotel to have a lot to offer!! That is what we strive for! Hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel, the location was perfect to walk around in the French Quarter, The Hotel was clean & the service was great. We ordered room service and the staff were very prompt & nice. This is my second birthday weekend. Will come back again for another. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for a great review and we hope you had a very Happy Birthday weekend!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarters. We were referred to the Monteleone by the wedding party. Crystal Chandeliers, marble floors, attention to detail are all part of the experience of staying at hotel Monteleone.LOVED the specialty drinks in the bar area. The hotel reminds me of the Waldorf in NYC. It's an old classic, richly appointed like the Waldorf. We did not have a view in our 6th floor room but didn't care because we were out and about every day and night. Don't miss the Cafe Beignet a block and a half away. We have eaten at Cafe du Monde several times and honestly Cafe Beignet is better. Our service wasn't the best but the Beignets were fresher and better. Our rehearsal dinner was at Galatoires a short walk away. The hotel is on Royal street which is blocks or maybe even one block from Canal and Bourbon streets. My 88 year old mother in law could walk it. Oh and the POOL top bar is wonderful. Be sure to check it out.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet but I was told some rooms could be noisy like those in Manhattan. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are so glad you have such an amazing stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone! It sounded like the perfect trip. We hope you had a fantastic rehearsal dinner! Please come visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We love this hotel so much we made annual visits to celebrate a birthday. The location is so perfect - especially to our favorite oyster bar- Acme Oysters. The hotel is full of charm and is well maintained. The staff is very friendly and you can always get a taxi within seconds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are so glad you had such a great stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone! Please come and visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Here's the facts:
-Great great location.
-Standard room small but bathroom OK
-Outdated room decor but still clean with new appliances
-Most of the views are of a frosted glass window facing a brick wall.
-Cool carousel bar but so busy you'll probably never get a seat.
-Staff was pleasant
-Easy to get a cab
-Reasonable price based on location and amenities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ramathorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review on the Hotel Monteleone! We hope you come and visit New Orleans again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,496 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,627 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,390 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,714 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £148 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing