We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monteleone Exceeds My Highest Expectations”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel Monteleone Exceeds My Highest Expectations”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

New Orleans is a superb location for business and pleasure The hotel gym helped me work off my stress of the day and burn up some calories, too. My king size bed was delicious and the roof top pool devine! The food was too good to be true. Hotel Monteleone is a historic New Orleans hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and recommended it highly for my next visit to such a wonderful city!

Room Tip: Enjoy the nightly entertainment in the hotel restaurant! You might want to ask for a room reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad you found all of our facilities at the Hotel Monteleone to be so great! Come visit us again in NOLA soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,800
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,215
2,727
225
1,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great time at the Monteleone when we were in town for a friend's wedding. Earl at the Valet was great as well as Anita at the consierge desk who helped me with a couple of work things. We will definatly stay there again as its in the heart of the FQ and extremely reasonalble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad you had a great experience with us at the Hotel Monteleone! Please come visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Essence Festival. What a great property. Perfect walking distance to Bourbon street and all of the great eateries. Rooms were a perfect size and I liked that they had a refrigerator. It didn't really get too cold, but it served its purpose. Gym was nice too.
I would definitely consider this for my stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4myartnsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us over Essence Festival! We are so glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern US
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I was in New Orleans for business and the hotel was obviously a place for both business and leisure travel.

I was tired and attempted to check early but my room wasn't ready. This is where the hotel excelled-- staff person (she had should-length blonde hair-perhaps Stephanie was her name) went out her way to come up with a solution . I can't say enough about how impressed I was and they now have a customer forever.

The rooms are a nice size and seem clean . I originally thought the comforter was a little old timey, but it was appropriately consistent with the theme of the hotel.

The bar in lobby is very cool. It is on a carousel and has a very cool vibe. The crowd is very diverse with good conversation. Give it a try .

The location is great. The walk to Bourbon Street and restaurants is less than 5 minutes. There is a pharmacy in easy walking distance .

You can't go wrong with this property.

My rate was $179/night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wetravelthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are thrilled you had such an amazing stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone and that we now have a customer forever! Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was awesome! The lobby was very pretty, and it's location makes it very convenient for the guests to diffuse into the New Orleans culture. The pool was very nice and unique but the workout facility should of had free weights instead of the six machines. Besides that, everything was really nice and the people at the garage were great. Ask for Earl when you're there because he's the man. I would use this hotel again if I come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so glad you had a great trip with us!! We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly, professional, attentive staff, beautiful styling, creative food and drink -- this hotel is a wonderful travel experience by itself. The perfect location within the French Quarter made it all the more exciting and fun.

Room Tip: High floor, river view suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly, professional and attentive. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer for the price. The lobby is gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The locations is perfect in the heart of the Quarter two blocks from Bourbon Street. The rotating Carousel bar is a fun place to hang out. The roof top pool is small, but very nice. The gym has a great view overlooking the river. We ate at the restaurant one night; the food is good but there are much better places to eat in N.O. (like Mr. B's across the street). Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravens32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so glad you found our hotel to have a lot to offer!! That is what we strive for! Hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,105 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,705 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,156 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing