We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel, but....”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friends and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel and saw the old world charm. The lobby was beautiful, the room was a good size and the french quarter location was excellent. We had a great time having a drinks with bartender Parker at the carousel bar and watching the fireworks from the roof (it was 4th of July weekend). Although parking was ridiculously expensive, it was comparable to the other hotels in this area during this time. The only issue I have with this hotel is the lack of security. During festival time and there are hundreds of people walking the streets and going in and out of hotels. This hotel allowed every and anyone to enter without showing a room key at anytime of night. We ran into several people in the elevator going to the rooftop pool who were not guests of the hotel. Even though I like the hotel for the reasons I've stated, I would have to really consider the lack of security they provide before staying again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor facing Royal Street which was a little noisy. The double bedroom had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment regarding you recent stay at the Hotel Monteleone. Your remarks are well taken about our security and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We hope to see you again soon for another stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,595
    1,520
    464
    209
    116
See reviews for
1,159
2,597
217
1,424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The house keeping is awesome. The hotel is great. Me and my family really enjoyed ourselves. We got a history lesson on the hotel that we thought was rather interesting. Every time we left for the day we would come back to a clean room. They would even put our stuff away neatly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latoyra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on the Hotel Monteleone! It sounds like you and your family had a great trip!! We hope to see you soon for another great stay at the Hotel Monteleone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Chose this on a whim after looking at other hotels in NOLA. Wanted to stay somewhere that had some character. I couldn't be happier. The hotel was beautiful. Didn't get to check out the bar, but or always had a great crowd. I did go to the Hun and it had just enough to get the job done. Pool was nice. We didn't go on because of the lack of seating, but it was very well maintained. I loved the location. This made the Essence Festival experience so much better. And I loved having Walgreens right on the corner. I hope to book this hotel for my group for next year's festival. As a Travel agent, I would definitely recommend. The only thing that caught us off guard was the $60/night charged to the card. I missed that part in the confirmation. Although it was returned upon checkout, it is quite expensive. But other than that, no issues.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ArtNSoulEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad you found the Hotel Monteleone to have the all the character you were looking for in a New Orleans hotel! Please come visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful location to everything we wanted to do. Friendly, courteous staff. Loved the room, housekeeping was wonderful. Little touches made it special. Gave us a king room instead of double, double, which, at booking, they weren't sure they could do. Got 2 free drinks for our anniversary from the Carousel Bar. Breakfast is beautifully served and prepared. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and found our service to be so great! We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
870 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Monteleone in the French Quarter of New Orleans is a world class destination. As expected, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but very nicely furnished and come complete with many upgrades that would be expected such as large screen LED TVs. Like almost all downtown NOLA hotels, it is a bit pricey but worth it. Parking is limited and expensive but you don't need a car in downtown NOLA anyway as everything is in walking distance. Part of what makes this hotel great is the Carousel Bar....but that's another story.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad you had a great stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone! We appreciate our customers feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you want to be within walking distance of everything in the French Quarter, this hotel is for you. It's not cheap, but it's a beautiful and historic hotel with a fun bar in the lobby (the Carousel Bar) and a rooftop pool. I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We love our returning customers! Thank you so much for another great stay at the Hotel Monteleone!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hotel Monteleone was very centrally located to the well-known streets and top restaurants in the French Quarter. The staff was extremely customer service oriented and the amenities were top notch. The lobby offers a very regal look into old New Orleans and the Carousel Bar was very charming. The night doorman remembered me from the first day I arrived and always made a point to say hello, referring to something from the prior day's interaction. The business facilities were very clean and the conference room service was very good. I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad you found our service and all our amenities to be top notch! Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,230 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing