We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience at Hotel Monteleone”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had to travel here to attend a business conference being held at the hotel. Conference price of the hotel room was great, but I really didn't appreciate having to pay $40 a night for parking which I think is outrageous and nowhere did I read prior to my arrival that would be the cost. Plus becuase it is in the French Quarter it leaves you no choice. The bathroom in my hotel room was VERY small - toilet angled I guess to save space and litterally no vanity space in the bathroom to be able to put on your make-up and style your hair with multiple appliances. The bell staff Raoul and the room service staff was excellent, as was the ambiance of the carousel bar. Very pricey restaurant with okay tasting food. But I would not recommend anyone staying in a hotel in this area if they are there for business instead of night life. Every night I was awoken multiple times becuase of ambulance noise in the streets and loud drunk guests in the hallway outside my room. The French Quarter area and Bourbon Street near by were not pretty sights - lots of homeless in the smelly streets and everywhere you walk you encounter bars and not very safe enviornments, plus a lot of "X" rated sights. I would not recommend anyone coming to this area with children either. - Although that has nothing to do with the hotel - but it just happens to be located in this type of area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LaGuera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and the Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,201 - 5,207 of 7,810 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first time to stay here. I think it has become our hotel of choice. Living close to New Orleans we take several weekend trips a year.Wish we had tried here before now.
The hotel is in the upper class part of the French Quarter. It is close to businesses and restaurants, but away from the wild bars and strip clubs. It a nice place to bring children.The hotel is organized with little waiting to check in or obtain your car from parking. We arrived early and our room was ready! The staff was friendly and helpful. The excellent service continued in the bar, the pool area, and the restaurant. There was someone always there to see to your needs. This hotel contains the rich Southern hospitality in a modern up scale hotel.I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are thrilled you have made the Hotel Monteleone your New Orleans hotel of choice!! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The doormen were excellent and very easy for them to get a cab. They also knew the taxi drivers.
I did not think much of the front desk staff when requesting a change of room or upgrade.
Might stay again if there was a better room as the location is good.

Room Tip: Wi FI too expensive and should be free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone. I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. Please come and visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and as it was over a weekend it was very busy, but our room was like a refuge from the frenetic life of New Orleans.
Our room was a room with a king bed and it was very comfortable. We had no view, only a brick wall but the advantage of this was there was no outside noise. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean.
We had a free cocktail in the Carousel bar on our 1st night. Delicious and a great experience.
We went to the pool once but it was packed, no possibility of a swim, which is probably always a problem at the weekend.
We used the business centre which was good.
There were only two things we were slightly unhappy about. One was the valet parking, where you arrive and your car is whisked away to somewhere you don't see and secondly, there is a charge of $9.95 dollars a day for wifi. This is the 1st hotel I have visited in many countries of the world where there is a charge. I think that basic internet access should be complimentary in a hotel, even if it is only in the public areas.
We didn't eat in the hotel, choosing to immerse ourselves in New Orleans life as we were there for only a short time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dotty003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are so glad you had a great stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone! All of your feedback has been heard and we really appreciated the review. Please come and stay with us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel staff was exceptional, friendly and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Lots of history and great to hear the stories. Loved the carousel bar and the Friday night band was awesome. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are so glad you had such a perfect trip to New Orleans! Please come and stay with us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were here for business and extended our stay to see more of New Orleans. The hotel is full of history and gorgeous architectural details. Staff was very pleasant. The location was in the midst of everything and walking distance to all. If you want to experience grandeur, this hotel is the place for you. My friend who lived her entire life in NOLA, won't recommend anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BEVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review on the Hotel Monteleone! We love hearing when our guests have had such a great stay!! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'm a creature of habit. I have been coming to New Orleans for over 25 years and stay at the Monteleone the majority of that time. I have seen a gradual decline in service and professionalism. Our recent visit had been booked eight months in advance. We had reserved a room with a king size bed. We decided to take our niece for her birthday and had requested it be changed to two queens. I called once a month for the next eight months and was told that the request has been noted. Upon arrival, the hotel was full, and our reservation had not been changed. We ended up having to upgrade to a suite at an additional cost of $700 per night. Upon pulling out the sofa sleeper for our niece, we found that the sheets were still dirty from the previous occupant. We went downstairs to dine at Criollo, only to be distracted from our own conversation by the private lives of the entire staff... waiters, chefs, busboys and manager. We experienced the same with the lobby floor staff throughout our stay. As far as any amenities, there are none other than a $1200 per night chocolate on our pillow. The one thing that made our stay at the Hotel Monteleone exceptional... CORY the bartender at the Carousel bar. He was AWESOME! The rest of the staff could really benefit by his example. As far as returning to this hotel in the future... NOT A CHANCE!

Room Tip: Shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and the Hotel Monteleone. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of the Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,998 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,343 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £149 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing