We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mighty Monte” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Mighty Monte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a three day holiday with friends celebrating a retirement and birthday at the Monteleone in June. While I've enjoyed the Carousel Bar forever, I've not recently stayed at the Monteleone until this last visit. The experience - room, ambience, courtesy and comfort of the Monteleone is a superb investment in an authentic French Quarter tradition. There were three wedding receptions held during the first two days we were there and it was great to see the wedding parties enjoy themselves both within and without the hotel - the latter with full brass bands, second lines, and police escorts.

The rooms on the 11th floor were especially comfortable with great views overlooking the French Quarter and the Mississippi river yielding spectacular picture postcard sunrises and sunsets. The shower, bed, and comfort level of the room was as one would expect from such an elegant hotel. I ate two breakfasts in the hotel restaurant (needing to recuperate from all the festivities) and both meals were excellent with attention to service and quality.

As mentioned in the beginning of this post, I've been a fan and admirer (and imbiber) at the Carousel Bar for over twenty-five years, and it's never lost its fun, friendliness, and superb offering of cocktails. It can be quite crowded at times, but the bartenders (Hi, Marvin!) are the real deal and secret ingredient to making such a great bar. Marvin even has a new book out that I highly recommend: Magic in a Shaker: A Year of Spirited Libations. The hotel management has also expanded what was the rear wall of the bar to include a jazz and music venue with additional seating while watching the stream of humanity out the windows onto Rue Royal.

All in all the Hotel Monteleone is the complete package...uniquely part of the historic French Quarter and easily accessible to the rest of the Quarter, the river, and Downtown, old world ambience, courtesy, and charm with modern amenities and a style which is all its own whether it's the hotel, the restaurant or the Carousel bar. The Monteleone Hotel was truly delightful and helped make our retirement and birthday celebrations treasured memories.

Room Tip: Can't beat the 11th floor - especially rooms with the great views over the Quarter to the Missis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Pritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It sounds like your retirement and birthday celebrations went perfect! Thank you so much for choosing to spend such wonderful celebrations with us in New Orleans! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,550
    1,502
    453
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,140
2,558
216
1,412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love love loved my first visit to New Orleans and Hotel Montelone played a big part. Gorgeous lobby and the best location. There were three of us in the room, so it was a little tight, but that didn't really matter because we were out and about so much. Also, the room was always humid/damp feeling.
The live jazz at the bar was just great and the cocktails were just as fabulous. Rooftop pool was very cool and the workout room was well equipped.
I didn't have any meals here, it was little too pricey for the breakfast, but didn't matter because there are so many great affordable places close by.
The one thing that keeps it from being an "excellent" rating for me was the price of internet, it felt excessive to me and it was complicated to log on. I feel a hotel of this caliber that hosts so many business conferences and the like should offer complimentary wireless. If a little coffee shop can have free wifi, so should a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: There are river view rooms available, but honestly, it isn't necessary to splurge on one because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for all your feedback! Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management Team and will be reviewed. We really appreciate all your comments and we hope to see you again soon for another great trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel offers the very best-nicely accomodated rooms, great location, pool, health club, great dining experience and the friendliest service of any place we have been. Absolutely wonderful dinner with exceptional food and the best staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Mississipi Rive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NandJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so glad you found all of our services and your stay with us to be wonderful! We hope you come back for another great visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This beautiful hotel has it all. Location, great bar, history, service and very clean.
We stayed here for 4 nights and found the Monteleone to be outstanding in every way. If it fits your budget don't miss it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIVI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We love hearing from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything here was perfect. The greeting at the front door and the front desk, we couldn't find anything wrong with this place. The famous Carousel bar was really cool. The roof top pool was nice. This hotel is the perfect location to get to anywhere in the quarter and only a block away from Bourban Street. Will surely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay and found all staff to be very courteous! The room was of old world charm with modern amenities. Our view from the 14th floor was incredible as we were able to see the river, the quarter, the church, as well as other historical places!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pynkpryncess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so glad you had such a lovely stay with us! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It's taken me several days to rest up from one of the most wonderful trips, and Hotel Monteleone was certainly a big part of the huge success of our daughter's destination wedding. First, a most enthusiastic applause for Ms. Cynthia Michel; the Monteleone's Conference Service Manager. She dealt with both my daughter and mine type A personalities with aplomb, humor, and brilliance, taking on the roll of our wedding coordinator for us with the other hotel department heads. After scores of hours in relentless preparation, Cynthia did exceptional job during the reception, looking that every detail was to our specification and timing was down to a science. Both Kaitlyn and I completely and without doubt recommend her talents for other bride-to-be's looking for a New Orleans wedding. The communication from guests is still coming in; all apparently thought it was perfect as well. Another staff member that is to be acknowledged is Raoul; the bell man who so often greeted us in the lobby with quick wit, concern, or hysterical stories. This gem of a man was both professional and welcoming; a true New Orleanian. Of course, all that you'd expect from this caliber of hotel was provided; spotless rooms, quiet hallways, fabulous front desk staff, and unique ambiance. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner king's; some have river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! It sounds like the wedding weekend went just as planned!! We hope to see you again for another great trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,071 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing