We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Montelone Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Montelone Hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were so pleased with this wonderful hotel and the attentiveness of the staff. We traveled to New Orleans to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Royal Suite. This family-owned hotel still provides "that personal touch" and we plan to stay there again anytime our travels bring us back to NOLA. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the Carousel Bar is great! Location is ideal for exploring the French Quarter. Highly recommend the Monteleone Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! It sounds like your husband had a great 65th birthday!! We hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,736
    1,570
    477
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,189
2,690
222
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful. From the moment you walk through the doors, it's breathtaking. The rooms are up-to-date, clean, and comfortable. ALL of the staff is friendly and accommodating. This is a definite "must return". Convenient to everything in NoLa.

Room Tip: Traveling in August (off season), the rates were very reasonable. We stayed in the Royale Suite fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMY112490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so glad you consider us to be a "must return" hotel!! We can't wait to have you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was by far the best hotel experience I have ever had. It was not only luxurious but the staff were so friendly. I felt at home the moment I was greeted at the front entrance. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySmsws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Come back and stay with us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

During the dates of July 31,2014 and including August 3, 2014 My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting for the first time New Orleans,Louisiana, and staying at the Hotel Monteleone inside the French Quarters. Our experience was wonderful, educatonal and positively unforgetable. The garage staff especially Ezekiel was accommodating, patient and understanding. Ezekiel is a good man who has great people skills. Thank you for a great experience after a 16 hour drive from the suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio.

Room Tip: You can a large room with double beds also
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We love hearing great feedback about our staff! Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another great trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Location is perfect-in the French Quarter but not noisy. Easy walking to everything. The rooms are not huge (we had a preferred king) but they are clean and comfy. The bathroom is small and not much counter space but again it's clean and functional. The Carousel Bar is a must stop to see the beautiful carousel and also a very happening place. Great music too in the evenings. They also have a parking garage which is nice if you are driving in. The rooftop pool setting is very lush and tropical like the hidden patios around New Orleans. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are so glad you had a great experience with us! Please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As soon as you step foot onto Hotel Monteleone's property, you are greeted with smiles and southern hospitality! The staff exudes professionalism from the front door to the back of the house. Thank you Lucille and Marvin for wonderful service in the restaurant and the carousel bar and everyone else from the parking attendants to housekeeping who made sure my stay was exceptional.

The rooms are smaller than modern hotels, but, after all, it was built in the 1800's. My room was comfortable, very clean and quite. Sometimes, "quite" is hard to find in the French Quarter.

This was my second stay at Hotel Monteleone . I returned because on my first visit, not only did I receive great service and a comfy room, but I was told by one of the bellmen, Raul, that the hotel is pet friendly. Raul also told me that during Hurricane Katrina, the owners opened the hotel to the employees, their families and PETS! This speaks volumes to me about the ownership. No wonder the have a beautiful staff, they are a family!

Sincerely,
Guest in Room 865

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
It sounds like you had the perfect trip! Thank you so much for all your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and played tourist in our hometown. Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, incredible service and food at Criollo. Of course , you have to make it to the Carousel Bar and the rooftop pool. Definitely my favorite local hotel. While we were there, we booked spa services. This is also something not to be missed. Looking forward to my next stay. Thanks again Hotel Monteleone for being what you are. See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LianeB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We love hosting locals for a weekend get-away! Please come back any time for another weekend of playing tourist!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing