We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Clock”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just finished 3 days, 2 nights in the company of ~70 college classmates. Check in was quick we had a nice room with a lucious King bed, house keeping was thorough and non intrusive. The group meal and meeting room were excellent. The best was saved for last, Parking is always a trick when you are staying at a hotel situated on streets as narrow as the French Quarter. As we left ~9am for beignets and coffee I mentioned to Herbert Johnson, parking attendant, we would be checking out ~11am. When I returned, my car was positioned to load and leave. This in an area that at best allow 10 cars to be stacked bumper to bumper. Thanks Mr Johnson for capping an outstanding reunion in NOLA.

Room Tip: ask for riverside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We loving hearing great feedback about our employees! It sounds like you had a fantastic reunion weekend. Please come back and stay with us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,915 - 4,921 of 7,617 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent valet ....Townsend Hamilton. Despite the heat and humidity outside, the room temperature was very cool. The Carousal bar was a great place to meet friends. Restaurant was a great place to grab lunch or a late breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ermat918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

It sounds like you had a great stay! Thank you so much for all your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was great and location was really beautiful and the hotel staff was very beautiful and friendly and the hotel is really very clean and the hotel have no dirty want to go again with the hotel and i want to tell my all friend please visit the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed a lovely stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We drove into the garage and were met and helped by friendly staff. Check in was easy but we were told there was a charge for wifi! However, if we signed up for something (free) we would get free wifi, we only had to give an email address. We have been driving across the States and staying in motels where wifi is generally free! Why can't a hotel of this standard give free wifi? - well obviously for an email address it can! Our room was clean and well equipped but I think 'compact' best describes it!
We loved the location, central but quiet. We enjoyed a drink at the carousel bar - managed to get a quiet moment! The restaurant was good but breakfast was very expensive - go out and find somewhere on the street for a lot less!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms - we were booked into a room with 2 queen sized beds, we had stayed in a hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. All of your comments and suggestions have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We are so pleased you had a great trip with us overall and we hope to see you again soon for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, always a great stay. We came for a little overnight getaway and arrived at 9:30am, we were able to check in early and relax by the pool. There is a pool bar with a nice bartender and the drinks and snacks were perfect. The pool had misting fans all around to keep you cool. The view is pretty cool too! It's a rooftop view of the city. After dinner out we headed back to the hotel to the Criollo restaurant for dessert. Bread pudding! You can't pass it up. We didn't make it to the carousel bar because it was crowded but everyone seemed to be having fun. Will always come back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WhoDatAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review!! We hope next time you will join us for a drink at the Carousel Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is such a fine place and will not disappoint. It is the perfect landing point when in NOLA's French Quarter with it's elegance and charm.

We sampled so many things here.. rooftop pool, carousel bar and we LOVED the staff from the front desk, to the doormen to the housekeepers and bartenders. Top notch and simply a great choice for families, couples, friends and especially business travel and events. I had a tour of the event spaces and got to meet a few of their catering team all of whom were great representatives of the city and this fine hotel.

You will not be sorry to make this your home away from home during any kind of stay in New Orleans. As a industry professional myself I was impressed! Loved that it was family owned another great reason to stay here too. Great experience we will be back!!

Room Tip: Splurge for a Veiux Carre Suite you will not be sorry. Beautifully appointed and large and well equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HighlandsNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are so glad you had such a great stay with us! It sounds like the perfect trip!! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel was charming. Great location, lobby, hotel bar and a rooftop pool! The room was updated, but was also very small, which is common in older hotels. All in all a good choice, especially if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for the feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,868 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £143 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing