We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and a Merry-Go-Round”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegance and a Merry-Go-Round”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

One word describes this hotel: beautiful. The entrance to the hotel is what you expect of a "grand hotel". The doorman was friendly but professional. The concierge was extremely helpful and directed us to outstanding restaurants in New Orleans.
Our room was on the fourth floor in a secluded hallway near the elevator. The bathroom was huge. A beautiful chandelier hung in the middle of the well appointed bedroom. The room was breathtaking. I also highly recommend the bar on the first level. You see all different kinds of characters at the bar. The bar is on a merry- go-round, so patrons at the bar move a quarter around the bar every 5 minutes. Watching bar patrons not in the know about the merry -go-round makes for hilarious times at the bar. Ernest Hemingway would love this bar. Great hotel! You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review! We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,880
    1,608
    490
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,241
2,775
229
1,487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First, I do not write reviews ... and the reason for this one is that the hotel and people in it exceeded my expectations. We were in New Orleans for a vacation and we arrived late. The doorman and bellman (Ernie) were very helpful. The front desk (*Bobby) was just as helpful and got us right up to the suite. The bed was great and the bathroom clean clean clean. (and quiet).

This hotel is in the center of everything and after being in the quarter, we were both so glad that we didn't book anywhere else as those hotels were either smaller, or out of the quarter.

I highly recommend the Hotel Monteleone! (Thank you Sonya and all)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to write such an amazing review for us!! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a classic New Orleans hotel. It is located in the French Quarter just steps away from numerous attractions. The vibe is classic. Great cocktails at the bar and live music too. There is a rooftop pool and bar as well. The rooms are great and the service is excellent. You can't miss at this New Orleans classic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so glad you had a great stay with us! We hope to see you back soon for another great trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just finished 3 days, 2 nights in the company of ~70 college classmates. Check in was quick we had a nice room with a lucious King bed, house keeping was thorough and non intrusive. The group meal and meeting room were excellent. The best was saved for last, Parking is always a trick when you are staying at a hotel situated on streets as narrow as the French Quarter. As we left ~9am for beignets and coffee I mentioned to Herbert Johnson, parking attendant, we would be checking out ~11am. When I returned, my car was positioned to load and leave. This in an area that at best allow 10 cars to be stacked bumper to bumper. Thanks Mr Johnson for capping an outstanding reunion in NOLA.

Room Tip: ask for riverside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We loving hearing great feedback about our employees! It sounds like you had a fantastic reunion weekend. Please come back and stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent valet ....Townsend Hamilton. Despite the heat and humidity outside, the room temperature was very cool. The Carousal bar was a great place to meet friends. Restaurant was a great place to grab lunch or a late breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermat918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It sounds like you had a great stay! Thank you so much for all your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was great and location was really beautiful and the hotel staff was very beautiful and friendly and the hotel is really very clean and the hotel have no dirty want to go again with the hotel and i want to tell my all friend please visit the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed a lovely stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We drove into the garage and were met and helped by friendly staff. Check in was easy but we were told there was a charge for wifi! However, if we signed up for something (free) we would get free wifi, we only had to give an email address. We have been driving across the States and staying in motels where wifi is generally free! Why can't a hotel of this standard give free wifi? - well obviously for an email address it can! Our room was clean and well equipped but I think 'compact' best describes it!
We loved the location, central but quiet. We enjoyed a drink at the carousel bar - managed to get a quiet moment! The restaurant was good but breakfast was very expensive - go out and find somewhere on the street for a lot less!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms - we were booked into a room with 2 queen sized beds, we had stayed in a hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. All of your comments and suggestions have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We are so pleased you had a great trip with us overall and we hope to see you again soon for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,158 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,638 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,367 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing