We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans classic”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for several nights and really enjoyed the property. The rooms can be on the small side, but the customer service was excellent. The Carousel Bar is great, loved the rooftop pool. If you ask for a high floor or a room away from Royal St the street noise is not an issue. A New Orleans original.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We are so glad you had a great stay! Please come back visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,195 - 5,201 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband planned a birthday trip for me to this, our favorite NOLA hotel. Upon arrival, he was disappointed in our room and we received an upgrade to a suite spending not that much more. It was worth every dime!!! We had a view of the river from the living area and our bedroom. The en suite bathroom was spectacular, with a jacuzzi tub, was quite large with high end toiletries, many towels, a shaving mirror (make-up mirror for me), marble flooring and granite counter tops to list a few of the features. This hotel is steeped in history and is located in the heart of the French Quarter. The location makes it perfect for walking to most places of interest and to the restaurants we wanted to visit. We had friends over for drinks before dinner on our second night there, and the guest powder room and living area made it very conducive to entertaining. Ask for a corner suite, on the 14th floor and your view will be amazing... a perfect view of the city. The furnishings and draperies were elegant and beautiful. This historic hotel is well worth whatever you have to pay for special occasions...try weekdays and your rate will be amazing too. The Monteleone has never failed to be anything less than grand.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or suite. They are sunny and you have a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

It sounds like you had the perfect trip! Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you and your husband again soon for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have visited this hotel multiple times while in NOLA as Royal St. is my favorite, but have never stayed. I really like the Carousel Bar and lounge because of the history and live jazz. We decided to stay here based on my visits. What a let down. Although the hotel is very pretty architecturally, and well decorated, The service from the front desk staff was courteously-rude. In other words they are put-out with a smile. The gift shop staff just down right rude. Valet staff was ok but slowwwww. Rooms were what I expected after staying in the French Quarter many times. Our bathroom needed a lot of maintenance and the tv was horrible. Other than that, the stay was just ok. I will still visit the lobby bar but will probably return to the Roosevelt or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OTIS_OF_DALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 nights last week at Hotel Monteleone for a quick getaway from the summer monotony. We were promptly greeted in the parking garage by friendly, courteous and attentive personnel and the rest of the hotel staff we encountered were same. Enjoyed the novelty of the Carousel Bar, cooled off in the rooftop swimming pool (don't miss Edgardo's banana daquiri!), and were pleased with the chocolates left on the pillow with turn down service. This hotel is clean, quiet, elegant and in a fantastic location. We did not have time to dine at Criolo as we had a list of other area restaurants we wanted to try, but will hopefully get the chance to do so on the next visit. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Monteleone to those wondering where they should stay while in the French Quarter area of New Orleans.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvnLakeLivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location, wonderful staff, rooms were small but I would certainly stay again. Roof top pool was fun and so was the carousel bar off the lobby. Had breakfast twice in the hotel restaurant and it was pricey but good.

Room Tip: The restaurant across the street is not all that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We hope you had a wonderful stay with us. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is our second time staying at Hotel Monteleone and we were not disappointed. It's location makes it ideal, but the hotel itself has its own charm and history! The staff we encountered were efficient and made the stay enjoyable. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpiobaby119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon for another great stay at the Monteleone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

One word describes this hotel: beautiful. The entrance to the hotel is what you expect of a "grand hotel". The doorman was friendly but professional. The concierge was extremely helpful and directed us to outstanding restaurants in New Orleans.
Our room was on the fourth floor in a secluded hallway near the elevator. The bathroom was huge. A beautiful chandelier hung in the middle of the well appointed bedroom. The room was breathtaking. I also highly recommend the bar on the first level. You see all different kinds of characters at the bar. The bar is on a merry- go-round, so patrons at the bar move a quarter around the bar every 5 minutes. Watching bar patrons not in the know about the merry -go-round makes for hilarious times at the bar. Ernest Hemingway would love this bar. Great hotel! You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review! We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,631 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,393 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £148 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing