We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed many times and have enjoyed our stay every time. And we love Lucille in the morning at breakfast as she always smiles remembers our names. I like I can stay within the hotel for great food when the weather gets yucky.

Room Tip: King bed corner room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We love hearing from our reoccurring guests. Thank you so much for choosing the Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,873
    1,607
    489
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,240
2,772
228
1,485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Monteleone for 9 days this July/August.

It was a perfect choice. It has it all: location in the heart of the French Quarter, decor that reflects its history, friendly staff that bends over backwards to make your stay pleasant, clean rooms, and one of the coolest bars in the US right in the lobby.

The rooftop pool is a great place to escape the heat and kick back with a drink from the rooftop bar.

The beds are some of the most comfortable hotel beds I've had.

Drinks in the Carousel Bar are pricey, but it's worth it--the bartenders are excellent, they make some of New Orleans' classic cocktails, and sitting at the rotating bar is a very cool experience.

The hotel was crowded with a fraternity convention, but we never heard anything from them. However, the Krewe of Endymion was hosting an event there, so we got the bonus of a brass band and second line through the lobby!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It sounds like the perfect family vacation! Thank you for all of your feedback. We hope to see you again soon for another trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel Monteleone is an old world hotel in the heart of the NOLA French Quarter. The staff were incredible - everyone was welcoming, helpful and passionate about their city. Suggestions from the front desk for dining options were on point and the concierge was so lovely, booking us in on 2 great tours as our time in the city was very limited. She even tracked us down afterwards to ask how we enjoyed them. Our room was comfortable and clean with views of the river and the hotel is walking distance to the French Quarter, great restaurants, jazz bars and shopping areas. There is a lovely rooftop pool and the revolving carousel bar was always packed, lively and served great cocktails. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all our services. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon for your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point, MS
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fantastic time on our most recent stay in NOLA. Staff was great, room was clean and roomy (we got a suite). Great location and helpful doormen. Not one complaint! Front Desk people were also very nice. Celebrating a birthday and received nice goodies from the hotel. Will stay here again! High recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie39773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for all your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful hotel! The location is close to the trolley lines and major streets. There are also some famous restaurants within walking distance. I would suggest that if you have any mobility devices with you, that you get a bigger room than the traditional doubles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your perfect trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we were greeted with a smile and taken under Raul's arm to our room. He pointed out all the highlights of our room and showed us the sights from the window. If you're looking for a good drink I would recommend visiting the carousel bar and ask for Corey. He's an outstanding bartender making fabulous drinks. Don't forget to check the entertainment list and come back later in the evening to watch local jazz musicians.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Please come back again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel fully reflects the aura of the city! I really felt the "french" character of this place. Very clean, comfortable rooms. The staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel is located close to the action of Bourbon street, our room had a great view to that live part of the city, but still it is quiet and the action going on outside never troubled our sleep. The carousel bar was perfect. One of the nights we stayed there there was a band singing the blues. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floors with views to Bourbon street. The city at your feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athensjuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It sounds like you had the perfect Monteleone experience! We are so glad you enjoyed the Carousel Bar while listening to some of our live music. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing